Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#44): Through the Looking Glass

The Book

83346

Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There (1871[1]) is a novel by Lewis Carroll (Charles Lutwidge Dodgson), the sequel to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (1865). Set six months later than the earlier book, Alice again enters a fantastical world, this time by climbing through a mirror into the world that she can see beyond it.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I decided to rad this book even though I wasn’t a fan of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Even though I’m that crazy about this book either, I must admit that I liked it a lot more. Alice was a bit older and I enjoyed the journey she went on quite a bit. I wouldn’t have read this book but because it’s part of a bind-up I felt that I needed to otherwise I was being unfair to my book collection (I’ve always been this strange, yes).

The Movie

Image result for through the looking glassAlice Through the Looking Glass is a 2016 American fantasy adventure film directed by James Bobin, written by Linda Woolverton and produced by Tim BurtonJoe RothSuzanne Todd, and Jennifer Todd. It is based on the characters created by Lewis Carroll and is the sequel to the 2010 film Alice in Wonderland. The film stars Johnny DeppAnne HathawayMia WasikowskaMatt LucasRhys IfansHelena Bonham Carter, and Sacha Baron Cohen and features the voices of Stephen FryMichael SheenTimothy Spall, and Alan Rickman.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

I didn’t know what to expect from the movie but it was really the trailer that made me interested in it. Given that this was Alan Rickman’s last ‘movie’, I found it very difficult to actually sit down and watch it. Once I did though…I couldn’t stop watching! The CGI, the storyline, the acting…everything was amazing. I actually cried (because of the above mentioned) and had a moment of silence after the movie was over.

The Decision

I think it’s obvious what I’m going to choose. If it isn’t, it’s the movie. I feel like it was a lot more real than the book. I felt a lot more connected to the characters while actually seeing the story play out.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a comment