Wrap Up: May 2016 (and June TBR)

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 5.13.14 AM

13188676 26114621 25783832 13154150 109484 22922929  26234591

17227209 28338785 27015414 One-Punch Man, Vol. 2 Deadpool, Vol. 7: Axis What Remains Kill the Boy Band

Powerpuff Girls Super Smash-Up #1 The Walking Dead, Vol. 03: Safety Behind Bars Doctor Fate (2015-) #1 No Place Like Somewhere Else Captain America: Steve Rogers (2016-) #1

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

It took me forever to finish this trilogy (books on books on books!) but I finally managed and it took me maybe a day! I loved it! Perfect ending and I had such a book hangover because this was just everything I needed in life.

True Born by L.E. Sterling

This was a strange book and I can’t begin to explain how I feel about it right now. As far as I’m concerned, I’ve put it behind me. See review here.

One-Punch Man Vol.1 by ONE

Most if not all of us know about One-Punch Man via the anime that has gotten so much hype lately and let me tell you, the hype is real and legit and totally not an exaggeration. I was laughing at every turn. Read this because I’m sure everyone needs to.

Attack on Titan Vol.1 by Hajime Isayama

Heaven alone knows why I’ve taken so long to start this manga series but I’m glad I did. I loved it! I looked for volume 2 at my local bookstore but they only had the later volumes. I can’t wait to continue this series.

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

I’m one of those people that never read A Series of Unfortunate Events as a kid. Well, I’m reading them now. I loved this first book (I was thinking of reviewing it but I think I’ll review the entire series as a whole so look out for that) It was amazing and everything I hoped it would be.

Alex by Lauren Oliver

You know how when you love a character but the book is not from their POV but you don’t want it to be because you prefer to be ‘observing’? Yea, that’s how I felt about Alex. I loved him in Delirium but I wasn’t prepared for this novella. I’m not a fan of him anymore…he doesn’t have that ‘wow’ factor for me as he used to.

It’s Too Late To Die Young Now by Gary R. Hope

I thought I wasn’t going to like this book but I took a risk and requested it anyway and ended up really enjoying it. See review here.

Guardian by Alex London

I enjoyed Proxy a lot more and this book was extremely slow but not bad as far as sequels go. It could have gone worse. This was not one of those ‘signed, sealed, delivered’ endings. It had you wondering, thinking…no, I don’t want to think. Give me a happy ending and leave it there. Don’t tell me a shadow is looming in the distance. (Figuratively speaking)

The Makings of a Fatherless Child by Chandler Alexander

Sigh. This book. I don’t know what to say. It was slow, then okay, then weird, then slow again. I feel like book should come with a warning. I was creeped out by the way these people acted to be honest. I don’t know what to make of it. See review here.

Did I Mention I Need You? by Estelle Maskame

Estelle Maskame is trying to kill me, I think. Death by reading. Can that happen? Excellent writing. Couldn’t stand Eden though. See review here.

One-Punch Man Vol.2 by ONE

The love I feel for this manga series is real and true. The one episode I watched of the anime- episode 2- was featured in this manga. Saitama also had a few wise words to say in this. (I’ll review a collection of the manga as a whole instead of individually)

Deadpool Vol.7: Axis by Brian Posehn

Deadpool does it again. Messes up my mind but keeps me coming back for more. Review to come soon.

What Remains by Garrett Leigh

I loved, loved, LOVED this book. It’s a beautiful story about two men fighting for love and this was just everything in one. Review to come soon.

Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

This was a weird story. I personally was slightly peeved by the way fangirls was portrayed but oh well. See Review here.

Powerpuff Girls Super Smash-Up #1 by Derek Charm

I loved seeing one of my childhood shows in comic book form. I especially loved The Powerpuff Girls as a kid. Review to come soon.

The Walking Dead Vol.3: Safety Behind Bars by Robert Kirkman

This series just gets better and better.I can’t wait to continue to the next volume. Review to come soon.

Doctor Fate #1 by Paul Levitz

My knowledge of the Egyptian gods isn’t that great but I kind of liked this comic. I was slightly confused but it was only the first issue.

No Place Like Somewhere Else by Caesar J.M. Kauftheil

This book was so amazing and I think that with such a quick read, so much was said. Excellent chemistry between the characters. Review to come soon.

Captain America: Steve Rogers #1 by Nick Spencer

Of course with the internet blowing up about Cap’s secret reveal, I had to get on board. I was…kindly requested to drop my Korean drama and pick this up. I wasn’t disappointed. Review to come soon.

Total Read in May: 19 Books


Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 5.25.06 AM

  • Unfinished Books:

This section is not going to be done for a while and that’s okay. I’m a bit busy where reading is concerned but some time I’ll get through them all and this section will have a completely new set of books. :)

3008 The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, #2) 20613470 Civil War II (2016-) #0 Death Note: Black Edition, Vol. 1  

     685403 27407971

16181775

  • Official TBR:

13414446 17623975

  • Goodreads Genre Challenge: Survival

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

  • ARCS to get through: (Just a few them…)

Anomaly: The Soul Prophecies The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library #1) And I Darken Casto (Gods of War, #1)

Leave a Reply

