Wrap Up: June 2016 (and July TBR)

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 5.13.14 AM

Finished in May:

 Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale Death Note, Vol. 1: Boredom (Death Note, #1)

Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

I took way too long to finish this book. It was a bit slow at first and it’s true to the reviews- it is weird, but not a weird that I could get along with. I’m glad I’m finally done with it though.

Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler

This was a confusing read for me. I wasn’t sure what was happening but I absolutely loved the writing style. See review here.

Death Note Vol.1: Boredom by Tsugumi Ohba

I wanted to start with the anime first but I figured since I owned this book I might as well read it. I loved it! I don’t know why I took so long to read it.


 The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, #2) Fairest: Levana’s Story (The Lunar Chronicles, #3.5) The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library #1) Full Share (Shore House, #1) Casto (Gods of War, #1) The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #2)

The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #3) Grace Randolph's Supurbia Vol. 1 My Dearest Father Death Note, Vol. 2: Confluence (Death Note, #2) The Tinderbox The Night is Darkening Round Me

Revival, Vol. 1 by Tim Seeley Bone Collector's Son, The The BFG Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet Divergent (Divergent, #1) Thor: Dueling with Giants (Marvel's Tales of Asgard) Sex Criminals, Vol. 1: One Weird Trick

The Sacrifice by Charlie Higson

I usually go through these books quickly but I took my sweet ol’ time reading this one. I enjoyed it a lot, while not my no.1 in the series (I think The Enemy is my favourite right now), I did enjoy seeing where this went. Now, on to The Fallen.

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

I didn’t like the first book even though I rated it 3/5 stars. It was slow and almost boring and I took a month to finish it, but this sequel was just amazing! I’m actually eager to finish the series now.

Fairest by Marissa Meyer

No Maleficent, NO MALEFICENT! It was great that we got a better understanding of ‘the bad guy’ but I in no way wanted to like her and I’m glad Marissa Meyer didn’t rationalise Levana’s actions. Review to come soon.

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

I was a bit disappointed by the execution of this book. I loved the plot but the way it played out was a bit ‘meh’ for me. Honestly don’t know if I’m going to continue this series. See review here.

Full Share by Eliza Freed

The read that started my summer. I loved the story this book told and I laughed, cried, giggled and all those amazing things. I actually want to read it again. See review here.

Casto by Xenia Melzer

This was a lovely bit of mythological historical fiction mixed with a bit of LGBT. Great read. Can’t wait to see what happens next. See review here.

The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket

I can’t believe I never read this series as a kid. I watched the movie and let me tell you, it has nothing on the books. I love the writing, the characters. Everything!

The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket

Count Olaf is a true villain. I had to force myself not to pick up the fourth book after I’d finished this. I haven’t gotten a favourite yet, but we’ll see.

Supurbia Vol.1 by Grace Rudolph

Yet another book about superheroes…NOT! I love that this is the story of the partners and what they do (kinda) when the heroes go off to fight. See review here.

My Dearest Father by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Death Note Vol.2: Confluence by Tsugumi Ohba

I wanted to wait till I owned the next volume but I really wanted to continue so I threw that idea out the window. This story is getting so interesting. I need to know how it ends.

The Tinderbox by Hans Christian Anderson 

I loved this! I was a bit reluctant to read this because not all classics are understandable and/or interesting but I remembered so many stories from my childhood and I’d definitely read this again.

The Night is Darkening Round Me by Emily Brontë

I’m not really a fan of poems mainly because I don’t always understand them. There were quite a few that I didn’t get in this book but for those that I did understand, I thought they were beautiful.

Revival Vol.1: You’re Among Friends by Tim Seeley

Zombies, but not zombies. This was a great reanimated comic. It was definitely something new for me and I can’t wait to read more. Review to come soon.

The Bone Collector’s Son by Paul Yee

This book seemed weird so I didn’t want to read it yet but I suddenly got the urge to ready about Chinese culture and ghosts so I picked this up. I loved this so much! 5 star rating. Review to come soon.

The BFG by Roald Dahl

I never read any of Roald Dahl’s books when I was younger but I grew up wanting to be so smart I’d be able to levitate things with my mind like Matilda. I loved The BFG and I can’t wait for the movie.

Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg

This was a little bit of everything. I noticed some other fairytales in here. I liked the concept of making feeling-filled baked goods. Review to come soon.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I’m ashamed that I waited so long to read this book. It took me quite a short time to complete it and I fell in love. And to think I was worried that I wouldn’t like it.

Thor: Dueling with Giants by Keith R.A. DeCandido

This was a bit cliche for my liking. It’s always Thor vs. Loki, but I guess that’s the way it’s always going to be. Review to come soon.

Sex Criminals Vol.1 by Matt Fraction

This was a weird comic but I liked it. It was…different. Glad to have finally read it. Looking forward to the next volume. Review to come soon.

Total Read in June: 20 Books


Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 5.25.06 AM

  • Unfinished Books:

This section is not going to be done for a while and that’s okay. I’m a bit busy where reading is concerned but some time I’ll get through them all and this section will have a completely new set of books. :)

Doctor Who: Who-ology The Optimist's Handbook: A Companion to Hope; The Pessimist's Handbook: A Companion to Despair 17623975 3008 20613470  

   685403 27407971 16181775

  • Official TBR:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1) Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  • Goodreads Genre Challenge: Road Trip
Amy & Roger's Epic Detour
  • ARCS to get through:

In the Hope of Memories And I Darken The Beast That Never Was Detached Gifted cover NEW The Story Traveler Wrecked

Anomaly: The Soul Prophecies

Leave a Reply

