Wrap Up: August 2015 (and September TBR)

Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 5.13.14 AM

     

      

  

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) and Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

An amazing series that is just getting better and better. I finished Cinder in a day and a half and picked up Scarlet the very next week. Marissa Meyer really knows how to keep her readers on the edge of their seats.

The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis

The One Thing was a great read and the storyline was a work of art. The dying/handicapped/ill main character is so common now, but Marci Lyn Curtis took that and made it into her own and that was the beauty of it. She turned it into something uncommon and in my opinion, a masterpiece. Full Review here.

Shattered Blue by Lauren Bird Horowitz

This book had a lot of promise and I hope to see a sequel in the future. This book was a great introduction into this world and I can’t wait to find out what happens next. Quite a quick read too. Full Review here.

Seared by Sandra Gustafsson

A psychological thriller that at times makes you feel sorry for the main character but still wonder, what put her inside that facility. What could she have done? This book really messed with my head and I wanted to take some time off from the psychological and focus on something else. Not a book to go into light heartedly. Full Review here.

Wish You Were Here (And I Wasn’t) by Collin McNaughton

I’m not a fan of poetry. I don’t really understand it so I tend to stay away from it. It’s like the old saying ‘If you have nothing nice to say, rather don’t say anything at all’. I read this as a part of a genre challenge on Goodreads. August’s genre was Poetry/Verse. This book was written for the middle grade age group so I was able to breeze through it.

Cast Me Gently by Caren J. Werlinger

Which direction do you go when it’s Family vs. Love. Who do you choose? Caren J. Werlinger wrote this amazing book and thanks to her, it is now one of my top favourites of 2015. She didn’t just talk about the characters and the tough decisions they had to make, she expanded on their families and past lives too. This wasn’t my first LGBTQA book but it was my first where the story focused on lesbians. I enjoyed it tremendously. Full Review here.

Girl From Above: Betrayal by Pippa DaCosta

This book was direct and I liked that about it. It didn’t drag me around any bushes and went straight to the point. This book is classified as adult and I usually don’t venture into that genre but the synopsis won me over. Full Review here.

The Institute by Kayla Howarth

There are the normals and there are the Defective. If you’re defective, you’d wish you weren’t because The Institute is coming for you. This book was quite difficult to review without spoiling anything but it was great all the same. Full Review here.

If You’re Lucky by Yvonne Prinz

Even though I mentally agreed with myself to take a break from the psychological, I still went ahead and read this book. The story focuses on a girl with Paranoid Schizophrenia and as the story unfolds, you see how and when her situation worsens. Full Review here.

They’re Not Like Us Vol.1 By Eric Stephenson

This is a comic book that depicts the differences between people. It draws it out and underlines and highlights it so many times that it’s hard to ignore. You just can’t look away. Full Review here.

Young Terrorists Vol.1: Pierce The Veil by Matt Pizzolo

This comic book didn’t have much of a plot really. It was more of an introduction to the characters and their lives. I enjoyed it either way. Review to come soon.

Pawn Shop by Joey Esposito

This graphic novel was beautiful and tragic and simply amazing. The way one place connected all four people together. The writer did a great job with the storyline and the character development. Review to come soon.

A Dysfunctional Life by Kari Nichols

Yet another book that has a bit of the psychological in it. This book I’d also classify as adult because of the gore and violence. Characters that seem unrelated at first turns out to be connected to each other in some way. Review to come soon.

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone

This book was a battle for me. I enjoyed it but I took a while to actually finish it. This book is more for people who have some kind of insight into the gaming world. Amazing geeky references too. Full Review here.

This month I read a total of 9 ARCs, 3 of which were either Comic Books or Graphic Novels, 3 Novels and 1 Poetry book. That brings the grand total to 15 books! It’s up there with most books read in one month.


Screen Shot 2015-09-16 at 5.25.06 AM

I have a tough reading month ahead of me. I have lots on my plate for September so I really hope I can knock this TBR off the shelves.

  • I’m taking part in yet another Goodreads Challenge and the books which I hope to complete are:

      

  • As part of the Genre Challenge, the genre for September is Dying Earth. I’ve chosen:

  • ARCs:

   

  • To Review:

 

Good luck to me and all of you! One day our TBR pile shall be small, but it is not that day.

Happy Reading guys!

-xx Caron

2 thoughts on “Wrap Up: August 2015 (and September TBR)

    • it ended off really great so I’m hoping Vol.2 will pick off from there. The One Thing was amazing! You should read if if you get the chance. I’m thinking of buying the book when it’s published so that I can read it again when I go on vacation. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

