Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#29): Civil War

The Book

Civil War: A Marvel Comics Event

Civil War is a 20062007 Marvel Comics crossover storyline consisting of a seven-issue limited series of the same name written by Mark Millar and penciled by Steve McNiven, and various other tie-in books published by Marvel at the time. The storyline builds upon the events that developed in previous Marvel storylines, particularly “Avengers Disassembled“, “House of M“, and “Decimation”. The tagline for the series is, “Whose Side Are You On?”

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I read the Civil War prose novel by Stuart Moore before I started this one. I had the sense while reading that something was missing…I was right. Once I picked up Civil War by Mark Millar and read the tie-ins that come along with the Event I realised that a prose novel couldn’t have possibly given the full effect of what goes on in this story. I’m a die-hard Captain America fan so imagine my surprise when I ended up siding with Tony for this one. I stand by my decision still. I’m sure I spoke about it a little in my review.

The Movie

Image result for civil war captain america

Captain America: Civil War is a 2016 American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics character Captain America, produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. It is the sequel to 2011’s Captain America: The First Avenger and 2014’s Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and the thirteenth film of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

When a brief outline of the plot was given out and that first trailer was released, I was pissed. Again, this Event is no small thing and the fact that they took so much away from it and changed a lot I went in extremely skeptical. The movie was good, of course. I have no doubt in the MCU but I was thinking of the story from the comic book side and it didn’t quite match up. It’s fine, it’s fine. I’m over it now. *narrows eyes* We’ll see how Infinity War plays out.

The Decision

I don’t think I’ll read the entirety of the Civil War Event again, maybe only the main 7 issues but that’ll be a while. As much as I wasn’t a fan of the changes made in the movie, that movie was really good and I am glad that they clearly showed the different sides and the point of views of Iron Man and Captain America. That said, movie it is for me.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

