Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#27): Divergent

The Book

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

Divergent is the debut novel of American novelist Veronica Roth, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books in 2011. The novel is the first of the Divergent trilogy, a series of young adult dystopian novels set in the Divergent Universe.[1] The novel Divergent features a post-apocalyptic version of Chicago and follows Beatrice “Tris” Prior as she explores her identity within a society that defines its citizens by their social and personality-related affiliation with five factions, which removes the threat of anyone exercising independent will and re-threatening the population’s safety.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I bought the entire box set on a whim because it was a bargain and I’d heard about the series before and I knew it was pretty popular. It was only after that when I’d actually read the reviews and it turns out that there’s a lot of people who don’t like this series. At all. I pushed all those opinions out of my head and went in judge-free. Guys, I loved this book! I actually want to read it again before I get to Insurgent (or maybe after? We’ll see). This book was incredibly fast paced and I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I did.

The Movie

Image result

Divergent is a 2014 American science fiction action film directed by Neil Burger, based on the novel of the same name by Veronica Roth. The film is the first installment in The Divergent Series and was produced by Lucy Fisher, Pouya Shabazian, and Douglas Wick, with a screenplay by Evan Daugherty and Vanessa Taylor.[4] The story takes place in a dystopian and post-apocalyptic Chicago[7] where people are divided into distinct factions based on human virtues.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

I watched the movie pretty soon after I finished the book (I knew I was going to compare the two) and even though there are a few changes here and there, the movie was really good. It’s one of those movies I’d watch over the weekend as a break to get away from other things. Is it weird that I think there’s not too many places a person can go wrong where Dystopian is concerned? It’s the characters and the plot you have to be worried about. All in all, the movie was fantastic and I’d definitely watch it again.

The Decision

Ah, decision time. I think I’d have to go with the book for this one. I really like Veronica Roth’s writing style and the story is almost addicting. I kept thinking why hadn’t I started this earlier. So yea, book it is.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

