Book Review: Secret Wars #1 by Jonathan Hickman

Secret Wars (2015-2016) #1 (of 9)Goodreads Synopsis

The final incursion is happening! The Marvel Universe is colliding with the Ultimate Universe, and neither will survive!

>>>><<<<<

>>>>><<<<


**I’ll be reading the entire Secret Wars Collection including the tie-ins in this reading order provided by Comic Book Herald.

‘The multiverse is dying. Only two universes remain. Today, Earths collide.’

As I started this comic series I kept getting a sense of déjà vu, as if I’d read it before but I know for a fact that I’ve only ever read the 1984 Secret Wars.

We kick off right where the prequel ended (see my review for that here) kind of so instead of jumping right into the action, we take a trip over to the other Earth (Ultimate Universe) to see what’s going on there.

At this point the Reed Richards of both universes have already figured out the world was going to end so naturally they had to develop a plan to either save the world…or sit back and watch it be destroyed. Either way, the fight between the two universes seems like it was always part of the plan. It was inevitable and nothing was going to stop it from happening.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 10.58.13 AM

Fast forward a bit and the battle’s raging. Heroes are fighting and/or dropping dead in every direction you look. We are in an all out war. The not so funny thing is that this is only the beginning. We have barely scratched the surface. We all want to know ‘what happens next?’.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 10.59.59 AM

Apart from me being unable to shake the feeling that I’ve seen this somewhere (I think I’m losing my mind) I found this comic book awesome! There was nothing rushed about this because this is only the first issue and I have absolutely no idea where we stand.

I haven’t read anything that featured Esad Ribic’s artwork but I’m loving what I’m seeing. I get the sense that ‘the bigger picture’ was being put out there. Many of the images are widespread so we’re seeing everything at the same time from a bird’s-eye view.

Can we take a moment to gush over the cover for a moment? Alex Ross did a wonderful job and I could probably stare at it all day.

It’s going to take me some time to get through this entire series and I’m ready for the ride. Also, the comics that come after this event will make a lot more sense. Which is great. Let’s go!

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 11.00.46 AM

Read: 10 May 2017
Rating: ★★★

Publication Date: 1 January 2015
Publisher: Marvel
Writer: Jonathan Hickman
Illustrators: Esad Ribic |Alex Ross

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Source: Images taken from the digital comic book.

Leave a Reply

