Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#26): The Scorch Trials

The Book

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, #2)

The Scorch Trials is a 2010 young adult post-apocalyptic dystopian science fiction novel written by American author James Dashner and the second book, fourth chronologically, in the The Maze Runner series. The novel was published on September 18, 2010 by Delacorte Press. It is preceded by The Maze Runner, and followed by The Death Cure. A film adaptation was released on September 18, 2015 by 20th Century Fox.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

After finishing The Maze Runner and not liking it, it took me quite a while to get to The Scorch Trials but I’m glad I decided to read it. This was my favourite in the trilogy and the only one I’d revisit again. This book was extremely fast past and I could barely contain my excitement. Nothing could pull me away from reading and in my mind it practically made up for the disaster I thought The Maze Runner was.

The Movie

Image result for the scorch trials movie

Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (stylized onscreen simply as The Scorch Trials) is a 2015 American dystopian science fiction action thriller film based on James Dashner‘s novel The Scorch Trials, the second novel in The Maze Runner book series. The film is the sequel to the 2014 film The Maze Runner and the second installment in The Maze Runner film series.


Source: Wikipedia

Image Source: Google Images

This is another one of those when you watch the movie and you wonder where they got their information from. I don’t know what book this movie was adapted from but it wasn’t The Scorch Trials. It’s a good thing I don’t get mad at odd book to movie adaptations…anymore. I say ‘odd’ because I don’t want to say bad. That said, I really liked the movie! Am I contradicting myself? Probably, but my opinion remains the same. It’s been a year since I read the book and I had to look up a summary online so I didn’t remember too much. The book and the movie are separate for me. As I said, what happened in the book was not what happened in the movie.

The Decision

There were things I liked in both the book and the movie and I think the movie was really well done. I’ll give this one to the book though because it was the only book in the trilogy that I actually liked. Hmm, that was easier than I thought it’d be.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

