Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#24): The Hobbit

The Book

The Hobbit

The Hobbit, or There and Back Again is a children’s fantasy novel by English author J. R. R. Tolkien. It was published on 21 September 1937 to wide critical acclaim, being nominated for the Carnegie Medal and awarded a prize from the New York Herald Tribune for best juvenile fiction. The book remains popular and is recognized as a classic in children’s literature.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I had just finished watching the LOTR trilogy for the first time (by that I mean paying attention) when my sister informed me that there’s a prequel- The Hobbit. She was currently reading it for school and so I went out and bought myself a copy. I probably read the entire book in the span of a weekend and promptly fell in love. I’ve read it twice- I think- since then. One of those times was because I wanted to find out who died at the end and of course, I had to reread the entire book instead of just skip to the end. I’m planning on reading it again once my TBR shrinks down a bit more.

The Movies

Image result for the hobbit an unexpected journey Image result for the hobbit the desolation of smaug poster Image result for the hobbit the battle of the five armies poster The Hobbit is a film series consisting of three high fantasy adventure films directed by Peter Jackson. They are based on the 1937 novel The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien, with large portions of the trilogy inspired by the appendices to The Return of the King, which expand on the story told in The Hobbit, as well as new material and characters written especially for the films. Together they act as a prequel to Jackson’s The Lord of the Rings film trilogy. The films are subtitled An Unexpected Journey (2012), The Desolation of Smaug (2013), and The Battle of the Five Armies (2014).[4]

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

Even now, I get excited every time any of The Hobbit movies come on TV. I’m pretty sure I watched all of them in the cinema- the memory is hard to come by now- and these movies…wow! Peter Jackson did a really good job. Duh! It goes without saying. I used to be one of those people who went into a movie already judging because I knew that it couldn’t possibly be anything like the book. I’ve acknowledged over the years that with both The Hobbit and the LOTR trilogies, those changes were magnificent. Come on, Tauriel? Yes please.

The Decision

As great of a job Peter Jackson and the entire cast did with the movies, the book will always come first in my heart. I mean, I live for those extended versions but nothing beats the book in my opinion. The Hobbit is the kind of story I’d read to my kids before bedtime.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

