Book Review: Adventure Time: Candy Capers by Yuko Ota

Adventure Time: Candy CapersGoodreads Synopsis

An all-new stand-alone ADVENTURE TIME story featuring Peppermint Butler and Cinnamon Bun!

FINN AND JAKE ARE MISSING?! Don’t worry Candy Kingdom, Peppermint Butler and Cinnamon Bun will… protect… you? This is a mini-series you definitely don’t want to miss, with talent of Yuko Ota and Ananth Panagariya of JOHNNY WANDER writing our candied heroes and Ian McGinty of UGLY DOLL on art, there is nothing that can go wrong!


Finn and Jake are missing and obviously that’s a big problem because who will protect The Land of Ooo? Enter Peppermint Butler who believes he’s the man for the job. Translation: Peppermint Butler loses his marbles. Yea, I’d be terrified too.

Straight off the bat I’ll say that the artwork was amazing! It was right there in my face and I actually had to back up a bit because of how vivid it was. The detail was amazing, the colours were excellent. It was all just perfection.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 1.27.52 AM Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 1.28.05 AM

I mean, look at that! I had to spare a moment to take it all in because hot d*mn, dude’s talented. I could stare at it all day. I love it that much.

I’ve only read one other Adventure Time comic (Banana Guard Academy review) and I already like the fact that these comics are written by different authors. It brings something new to the table, which is different yet good. I don’t know if these characters are true to the story because I’ve only watched a handful of Adventure Time episode and that’s not really enough for me to judge. I did like how the characters were portrayed here because I don’t think that the story’s supposed to be serious, I laughed way too much for that anyway. I was introduced to Marceline in this book and my word, I love her! She’s so awesome. I’m going to need more comics with her in it.

Anyway, Finn and Jake are missing and Peppermint Butler is busy going mad because maybe it’s not so easy being the protector and having things go wrong left, right and center. My commentary is written down in my review book and I’m even laughing at it now. My thoughts throughout this entire book was that Peppermint Butler was either, going mad, out of it, or totally insane. I thought that he needed a vacation and if he was hungry, someone should’ve given him a Snickers.

This entire book was filled with humour…and a few questionable subjects. Where was Finn and Jake the entire time, you ask? It’d honestly ruin the punchline and the sight of Peppermint Butler’s tumble down the hill if I told you.

I recommend this comic to everyone and their pet. The mix of Ota and Panagariya’s writing with McGinty’s artwork was one of the best pieces of work I’ve seen in a while. Loved every moment and every page.

Read: 27 April 2017
Rating: ★★★★

Publication Date: 13 May 2014
Publisher: KaBOOM!
Writer: Yuko Ota | Ananth Panagariya
Illustrator: Ian McGinty

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Source: Images taken from the digital comic book.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Adventure Time: Candy Capers by Yuko Ota

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#17) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

