Book Review: The Totally Awesome Hulk Vol.1: Cho Time by Greg Pak

The Totally Awesome Hulk, Volume 1: Cho TimeGoodreads Synopsis

There’s a brand-new Hulk in town, and his name is Amadeus Cho!
Get ready for gamma-fueled entertainment as the kid genius decides he’s gonna be the best Hulk ever -and just possibly brings the entire world crashing down into chaos! Cho is taking on the biggest monsters in the Marvel Universe, but can he handle the danger posed by Lady Hellbender? What will She-Hulk and Spider-Man make of this very different Green Goliath? And what exactly happened to Bruce Banner? With monster mayhem in the Mighty Marvel Manner, all from the wild and crazy minds of Planet Hulk writer Greg Pak and superstar artist Frank Cho, this is better than incredible, it’s totally awesome! Plus: Amazing Science during Secret Wars featuring the Amadeus Cho of Battleworld!

Collecting: The Totally Awesome Hulk 1-6, & material from Planet Hulk 1


I’ve been eager to read this comic ever since I read Champions #1 a couple of months ago. I’ve only ever fully invested in Bruce Banner’s Hulk but I decided to branch out a bit and see what other Hulk’s have in store.

Amadeus Cho is The Totally Awesome Hulk, the New Hulk and he cannot stress this enough. He’s constantly being compared to Banner and this is not something he likes. It’s one of the things that can easily make him Hulk out.

Apart from monsters appearing here and there and Amadeus along with his genius sister Maddy acting as mission control fighting and capturing monsters, we barely scratch the surface where the true plot is concerned. When I first started reading, my opinion of Amadeus was pretty much set. He’s a kid so naturally, he acts like one. He may be a genius but no one said he can’t act his age. As I continued through the issues, I realised that he’s holding so much in and battling with him being the Hulk, not the Hulk being him. I couldn’t help but compare him to Banner at this moment because Banner lost control and when he transformed into the Hulk, there was only one person behind the wheel…and it wasn’t him.

I don’t know if She-Hulk and Spider-Man will be in the remainder of the series but for me it felt like they were here to boost the views. I don’t mind because I like She-Hulk and I love all versions of Spider-Man especially when he brings in that awesome humour of his.

At this moment, I feel like this story could go anywhere and I’m trying so hard not to play guessing games because I want to be totally surprised. I really think that Greg Pak did an amazing job with the writing and it was definitely fun and entertaining.

Would it be weird if I said that the artwork had an almost modern feel to it? I haven’t read many Marvel comics before and I know each artist has their own technique but the vibe in this comic felt younger. Weird, I know. I can’t explain it, but there’s this ‘new’ feeling to it. I think it fits though since Amadeus Cho is the new Hulk.

I’m definitely interest in seeing where this story goes and seeing if Amadeus manages to stay in the driving seat.

Read: 17 April 2017
Rating: ★★★★

Publication Date: 26 July 2016
Publisher: Marvel Comics
Writer: Greg Pak
Illustrator: Frank Cho | Mike Choi | Takeshi Miyazawa | Sonia Oback | Frank Martin | Andrew Crossley | Rachelle Rosenberg
Letterer: Cory Petit | Travis Lanham

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

One thought on “Book Review: The Totally Awesome Hulk Vol.1: Cho Time by Greg Pak

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#15) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

