Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#21): Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

I’ll be doing the Harry Potter books and movies individually as too much went on in each book/movie to put it in one post.

The Book

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is the first novel in the Harry Potter series and J. K. Rowling’s debut novel, first published in 1997 by Bloomsbury. It was published in the United States as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by Scholastic Corporation in 1998. The plot follows Harry Potter, a young wizard who discovers his magical heritage as he makes close friends and a few enemies in his first year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.
Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I probably took way too long to actually get into the book part of the Harry Potter series but once I entered those wonderful magical gates though, there was no turning back. The moment I read that first sentence: ‘Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.’, I knew I was in for a ride filled with conflicting emotions and departing on this adventure I’d never want to look away from. I’ve probably only read this book twice- maybe one and a half times- but that feeling of home doesn’t go away. I feel like I’m being wrapped up in a warm blanket. I can’t fully explain it but as much as the movie shows the magic…the books makes me feel it.

The Movie

Image result for harry potter and the sorcerer's stone posterHarry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (released in some countries as Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone)[3] is a 2001 British-American fantasy film directed by Chris Columbus and distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures.[2] It is based on the novel of the same name by J. K. Rowling. The film was the first instalment in the long-running Harry Potter film series, and was written by Steve Kloves and produced by David Heyman.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

I remember watching The Sorcerer’s Stone for the first time (I say ‘Sorcerer’s Stone because when I got the books they were the US publications and I just got used to saying it). My uncle gave me the DVD randomly one night and since I wasn’t allowed to watch anything related to witchcraft, obviously I was drawn to this from the get go. I knew absolutely nothing about Harry Potter but I fell in love with it immediately. I had nothing to base the movie off off so I wasn’t concerned if anything was changed or left out. All I know is that 10 year old Caron desperately wanted to be a part of this magical world. I still do to be honest. I’d gladly take Madam Pince’s position as the Hogwarts Librarian. When I finally managed to read the book and then re-watch the movie, I was able to compare the two better.

The Decision

When I first started this post I was so sure that I was going to choose the movie over the book but now that it’s time for me to make a decision I’m finding myself leaning towards the book. It’s all explained above. Imagination is a powerful thing. It’s so broad and unlimited and with these books, anything is possible. The mere idea of a magical world is just so astounding, it’s almost unfathomable. It’s books like these that further cements my love for fantasy as a favourite genre.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

