RST: Characters I Can’t Stand

*Just a note: These are characters I personally can’t stand. If any of these are your favourite, then by all means, you do you. I reserve the right to dislike what character crosses my path should I feel inclined. While I do not like the characters, I bear no ill will against the actors.

I started making a list a while ago jotting down the names of characters that I really don’t like and these are what I came up with…so far.

Now I know that every story requires a good villain (if it’s that kind of story) that will stick with you and make you despise them as much as the characters in the book do. After all, no one likes the person who’s always trying to kill the hero of the tale.

Of course, then you get these characters who you’d just want to upper cut and knock out with a chair or five because what even are you doing here? No one asked for you to show up.

Image result for umbridge

Take Delores Umbridge for example. When she first appeared my first thought was: ‘Wow, that’s a lot of pink.’ Then I’m sure my face showed my shock and disbelief at the fact that the ministry sent her? Like, excuse you lady, but we don’t need you. Go back to your cubicle.

There’s something to be said when the fandom hates this toad more than the actual villain. Thank the heavens for the Weasley twins. Also, slow effin’ clap to McGonagall for being such a BAMF! and standing up to Umbridge.

I won’t say that there was no reason for Umbridge to be a part of the series because I do think that each character -especially in the Harry Potter series- no matter how minor their role, played a part of the bigger picture. Will I ever end up liking this woman? Hell to the no. Sounds like there’s a ‘but’ coming on here, doesn’t it? No buts. I will never feel sorry for Umbridge.

Next up on the list, we have Thomas from The Maze Runner series. There was a time when I felt guilty about disliking characters from popular series but now, I don’t really care. If I don’t like a character because of one or the other reason, I’m not going to go out of my way to change that to suit other people’s desires. When I was younger my mom taught me not to call other people stupid because it’s mean and rude but Thomas…sweetie, you’re lacking a few brain cells there. He just seemed incredibly clueless and needed to be pushed in order to get a move one. He was slightly better in The Scorch Trials (only book I liked in the trilogy), but went back to his slow ways in The Death Cure.

I don’t like Queen Levana from The Lunar Chronicles simply because I think she’s a cruel and selfish b***h. When I read Fairest and got an idea of why she is the way she is, I didn’t feel sorry for her. Many a time I feel like saying she deserves everything that comes her way.

‘Mad’ Matt from The Enemy series. All the awesome people are dying…when is it this insane dude’s turn? I’ve been waiting since day 1 for him to be hit by flying debris or burned at the stake or anything that will just remove him. I love this series and I can even contend with ‘King’ David but this guy has just got to go.Image result for ramsay bolton

I have to be honest and say that before I had finished the current published novels in the Song of Ice and Fire series (books 1-5), Theon Greyjoy was on the list. I have watched the TV Series, but I also know that it differs quite a bit from the books. Once I got up to date though…Theon redeemed himself in my eyes and Ramsay ‘Snow’ Bolton became public enemy no.1. I have a few other characters that I despise in this series: Joffrey, Shae (how dare you break my dear Tyrion’s heart?), Tywin, Walder Frey…a few others here and there. Ramsay stands out for me though. He’s the epitome of Evil. Everything about him rubs me the wrong way. I’m all there with season 6’s ending. Books…hmm, we’ll see.

Sebastian Morgenstern is only on this list because at the beginning I really, really, REALLY didn’t like him. He’s one of those characters that make you want to fall to your knees and beg the gods to deliver you from this cursed monstrosity. I will say that while I despise Sebastian, Jonathan is a different matter all together. Poor kid never stood a chance.

I wanted to use an image from The Vampire Diaries TV Series but I decided not to because I only watched the first 10 minutes of episode 1 so that’d be unfair. Elena is a tough character for me to judge because throughout the book series she changes so much and has so many different versions, you get to see different sides of her, which I liked. Enter Elena from The Return: Midnight and things just fell apart for me. I found her to be very annoying and since she’s the MC I can’t just move on from her since the entire story is well, her’s. Take me back to Bonnie and Damon’s POVs when everything was awesome. Ironically, I haven’t given up on this series. I may have DNF’d this book 3 times but I will one day push through and conquer this novel.

I recently finished A Court of Mist and Fury and my decision that I made in the first book was even clearer once I completed the second. Tamlin of the Spring Court is my ultimate most despised character. At the beginning it was just a bit annoyance here, a tiny dislike there, come the second book and I’m begging for someone to throw him out a window. Nothing he says or does will ever make me like him. CONTROLLING PEOPLE IS NOT OKAY! PEOPLE ARE NOT PROPERTY!  I can’t with him, I’m sorry. I’m leaving before this becomes a full on hate rant.

Image result for bella swan

Bella Swan from the Twilight Saga. I don’t actually hate or despise her. I just find her annoying and whiny and all ‘woe is me’ and not a very strong representation of any character to be honest. She always had to be saved. And the worst thing is, she herself went out looking for dangerous situations. The fact that everyone just fawned over her as if she was something special didn’t help matters.

I mean, it’s kind of obvious. If you know you’re a magnet for trouble, stay out of it. Don’t date the vampire. Don’t go after the werewolf and try to make him your rebound.

Bella is just a very annoying character that I feel needs to be slapped a few times so that she can get a clue.

I swear, I’m not as violent as this post is making me seem.

As I mentioned at Umbridge’s part, sometimes a character’s part is crucial to the story and no matter how much you wish for them to reach a violent end, it won’t always happen. Something a reviewer on Goodreads said in one of her posts, and I’m paraphrasing here, is that the reason why we hate certain characters to the point of planning their untimely demises are because they are so well written and that the message and emotion the author wanted to send across was well received. That made me sit back and think for a moment that this person was right. And I’m not talking about badly written characters or those that annoy us. I’m talking about those that the author wanted us to despise. The Tamlin’s and Levana’s of the stories.

Again, if any of these are your favourite characters, that’s your thing. This is my thing. I actually had fun writing out this post. Let’s hope I don’t meet too many despicable characters in the future.

Thanks for stopping by.
Till next time,

Caron xx

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

*Source: All images taken from Google Images

9 thoughts on “RST: Characters I Can’t Stand

    • Thank you James. A few years ago I had one character I disliked- Umbridge- and now so much has changed. I honestly think it’s because of my perception of things now and how my reading standard has changed. I tried very hard not to seem like I was attacking anyone personally, so thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#14) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

