Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#20): The Princess Diaries

The Book

The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries, #1)

>>>>>><<<<<<

The Princess Diaries is the first volume of the critically acclaimed, best-selling series of the same name by Meg Cabot. It was released in 2000 by Harper Collins Publishers, and later became a film of the same name starring Anne Hathaway.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I probably took way too long to get started on this series but I’m glad I did. Most times I can’t even think of the books and movies as part of the same series because of the different vibes they put out. I loved what I’ve read so far (except Mia Goes Fourth. That book doesn’t exist to me) and I don’t think this takes away from the enjoyment no matter what your age. I want to reread this book over and over again. The way Meg Cabot started out this series was really great and I’m glad I get to experience that amazing work that she oh so generously shared with the world.

The Movie

Image result for the princess diaries

The Princess Diaries is a 2001 American comedy film directed by Garry Marshall and written by Gina Wendkos, based on Meg Cabot‘s 2000 novel of the same name. It stars Anne Hathaway (in her film debut) as Mia Thermopolis, a teenager who discovers that she is the heir to the throne of the fictional Kingdom of Genovia, ruled by her grandmother Queen Dowager Clarisse Renaldi (Julie Andrews).

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

I honestly can’t remember how I came to know about this movie. All I know is that whenever that was, I fell in love. The cast, the plot, the soundtrack…everything was just perfect for me. I’d watched The Sound of Music as well as Mary Poppins so I was already familiar with the amazingness that is Julie Andrews and I’ll admit it was the story as a whole that drew me in. She was an added bonus. I still watch this movie whenever I get the chance to this day and there’s nothing I don’t love about it. If it weren’t for Love Actually, The Princess Diaries would definitely be my all time favourite movie.

The Decision

I’m sure it was pretty obvious but I choose the movie. As much as I loved reading the book this movie was adapted from, nothing can take away from the love I feel for this film. I actually feel like re-watching it…again.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

4 thoughts on “Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#20): The Princess Diaries

    • Thank you! The books are a bit juvenile and it’s easy to get annoyed at Mia’s teenage way of thinking. It’s why I didn’t enjoy the fourth book. Julie Andrews is just amazing! I told my mom once that if my dad wasn’t alive and well and living with us, I definitely would’ve believed that maybe I was some long lost princess or something lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s good to be brought back to reality, but it’s also really fun to think you could have been royalty… and have so many new experiences — even if only a few days so you don’t take away from the goodness of the real family!

        Like

      • At this current moment I don’t think I’d want to be a princess though. I can only imagine all the things they have to go through in order to play their part perfectly. But I understand you. I wouldn’t change my family for the world! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

