Confession: I Suck At Vocabulary

Sometimes I’m so proud of myself because when I was taught the letters of the alphabet and how to sound them out, I was pretty much set where reading was concerned. The first word I read was ‘Stop’ from The Oprah Magazine and so started my reading life.

I could now read my bedtime Bible stories on my own and looked for random words on the street to read out. My mom even sent me to aisles in the supermarket on my own to fetch certain items. I always had a problem with ‘sugar’ and ‘flour’.

I’ve been a dedicated bookworm for about 4 years now and I’ve read almost 400 books in this time. They range from Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Biography, Poetry, Comic Books and Graphic Novels and I like to think that I don’t have much of a problem with reading in general right now.

Thing is: I do. I talk a lot, may even too much but lately I’ve been stuttering more, mainly because some words are difficult for me to find or understand.

Image result for vocabulary gifs

I have a word I want to say but when I say it, it doesn’t fit in with the sentence. Even as I write blog posts, more often than not, I open up a thesaurus or dictionary because I need to confirm if a word I’m thinking of actually is what I think it is. Sometimes I can only remember the synonym and not the actual word.

Maybe this isn’t that big a deal to others, but it is to me. I used to talk extremely fast but I had to slow down because being around people all the time who’s first language isn’t English, I wanted them to understand me.

I don’t know if I dumbed myself down somewhere along the way by not reading more, not wanting to learn more, but something’s gotta give.

Image result for thinking gifs

I took a vocabulary test online a few months ago as a joke and according to that, my vocabulary is quite good. My memory sucks though, but tell me something I don’t already know.

I do think I’m getting better. I’ve started this thing where I look up a word on my dictionary app on my phone if I don’t know exactly what it means. And I’ve started telling people that I don’t know what they’re trying to say if they use an unfamiliar word. Maybe I shouldn’t have dropped out of English in 11th grade but there’s nothing I can do about that now.

Now that I’ve highlighted the problem, it’s easier for me to fix it. And this is fixable. The only issue my teachers said I had in class was ‘not paying attention’ and that hasn’t changed now. I have a very short attention span but I’ve managed to work around that. I can handle this vocab issue. I got this.

Thanks for stopping by,

Caron xx

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

*Source: Gif and Image taken from Google Images

One thought on “Confession: I Suck At Vocabulary

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #13 | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

