Book Review: The Flash Vol.1: Lightning Strikes Twice by Joshua Williamson

The Flash, Vol. 1: Lightning Strikes Twice

Goodreads Synopsis

A part of DC Universe: Rebirth!

A new storm brews over Central City and disproves the old adage about lightning never, well…you know. Just as Barry begins to feel overwhelmed fighting crime, a new speedster debuts–but just where did this amazing new friend come from? Spinning directly out of the epic events of DC Universe: Rebirth, the Fastest Man Alive finds himself at the center of a DC Universe at a crossroads–and reeling from the reemergence of his protegee, Wally West!

From up and coming writer Joshua Williamson (Illuminati, Red Skull) and illustrator Carmine Di Giandomenico comes The Flash, Vol. 1: Lightening Strikes Twice!

Collecting: The Flash: Rebirth, 1-8


After Wally gets pulled out of the Speed Force by Barry, he goes off to join the Titans, leaving Barry once again without a partner. While battling to be in two places at once, Barry struggles to prioritise being The Flash, his work, and his personal life.

We all know how the saying goes, Lightning never strikes the same place twice, but in Central City’s case…it [technically] strikes thrice. Because of a freak Speed Force storm, a new speedster emerges basically making all Barry’s wishes come true because even though he is the fastest man alive, the one thing he never had was enough time.

As the story progresses, Barry thinks things are easier for him but there’s a new villainous speedster on the horizon, and he calls himself Godspeed.

I’ve only read two other works by Joshua Williamson but I can already tell that he’s becoming one of my favourite comic book writers. His work is amazing and fast-paced and I always find myself hooked from the very first page. The combination of Williamson’s writing and Di Giandomenico’s artwork puts together a beautiful piece of reading material that I can’t help but be amazed by.

I feel like many comics start getting cliche after a while and maybe this was too at certain points but I allowed myself not to see the obvious because I wanted to be shocked when it came to the end. Being introduced to comic book Flash through Williamson’s work and being able to feel for him as a character and connect with him would probably make it difficult for me to read another writer’s version of The Flash, and I have no problem with that at all.

I really enjoyed reading this comic and I flew through it pretty quickly. As I said, both the writing and the artwork were amazing and I liked where the plot was taking us. I’m definitely eager to continue this series as much was left to be discussed at the end of this volume.

Read: 17 April 2017
Rating: ★★★★

Publication Date: 24 January 2017
Publisher: DC Comics
Writer: Joshua Williamson
Illustrator: Carmine Di Giandomenico

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Flash Vol.1: Lightning Strikes Twice by Joshua Williamson

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #13 | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up: April 2017 (and May TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

