eARC Book Review: Among the Flames by Shelby K. Morrison

25662710Goodreads Synopsis

After fleeing her home in Tharien with the Emperor’s forces hot on her heels, Aia Wynnald has only one goal: To end the two-thousand-year-old discrimination against Benders—a race of beings like her, with a misunderstood gift. But when the Emperor’s Church of Mighty retaliates with a new threat, her noble plans are put on hold.

With her companion Cole Balain, a former enemy, by her side, Aia must halt the devastation triggered by her well-meaning actions. The only way she can fight the Church is with the help of a disenchanted group of rebel Benders who’d sooner submit to their fate than follow Aia’s lead.

Can she inspire them to fight and work together to resolve this new crisis, or will her ingrained submissive nature bring her, and the Benders of Dyel, to their knees?


I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Among the Flames is the long awaited sequel to From the Ashes (review here). After the events that took place in book one, Aia and Cole flee and end up teaming with a group of rebels claiming Aia to be their liberator.

I didn’t remember much of the first book as it’s been years since I read it. A few scenes did pop into my head here and there but I was still able to enjoy this book as events from the first book were mentioned often.

“Remember, you are elite, and the elite do not bow to the weak.”

The book was fast paced from the first page and I liked that. I knew I was going to finish it pretty quickly. And I did. I started the book but then got distracted and ended up staying up through the night to finish the other 80%. Near the end, I even forgot that I was running against a deadline because of how much I was genuinely enjoying the book. As I said before, the book was fast paced, so as big as it was, I barely felt it.

There wasn’t any character development in this book but that’s okay because instead we had consistency. There weren’t random changes made in the story. If a guy was bad in the beginning, he was bad at the end too. No one had a sudden change of heart and I appreciated that. I’m glad that we got to enjoy our villains as they were. The rebels were like a group of family and when the rest of the world is against you, family is a welcome sight to come home to.

I like Aia as a character. She wasn’t afraid to ask for help and when she did, people thought her weak because it seemed like she couldn’t make decisions on her own. I did notice how at random times Aia would pull the ‘is it because I’m a woman’ card and it felt a bit forced in the sense that it seemed odd in the situation and very noticeable, distracting me from what the original argument was.

I feel like the story has definitely progressed from the first book and I enjoyed this a lot more than I did From the Ashes. After finishing this book, that two year wait was really worth it. I’m eager to see where this story goes.

Read: 25 April 2017
Rating: ★★★★

Publication Date: 25 April 2017
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Shelby K. Morrison

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

2 thoughts on “eARC Book Review: Among the Flames by Shelby K. Morrison

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #13 | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up: April 2017 (and May TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

