eARC Book Review: XODUS by K.J. McPike

XODUS (Astralis, #1)

Goodreads Synopsis

All Lali Yavari wanted for her sixteenth birthday was for her mom to come back. Instead, she starts flashing between realities and seeing people disappear before her very eyes. Then the unsettling Kai Awana shows up at school, and Lali soon discovers she has inherited the ability to astral project—with a surprising twist. When Kai offers to use his own unique ability to help Lali find her mother in exchange for her help on a misguided mission, she can’t refuse…even if she’s not quite sure she can trust him.

Don’t miss this award-winning urban fantasy adventure, where what one girl learns about her mother’s past will make her question everything she thought was true—and just might put her family in even more danger.


I received this book from the author on Instafreebie in exchange for an honest review.

XODUS tells us the story of Xitlali, dealing with the fact that her mom left, and figuring out her newly found powers of astral projection.

I found the beginning of this book to be slightly fast paced which was good as I thought I’d get through it quickly. I’d never read a book about astral projection before so I was really excited and since the writing style was pretty good, I had high hopes. Turns out that the writing style ended up being the only thing I liked about this book.

My two main pet peeves regarding books are annoying MC’s and a bad writing style. Since I didn’t need to worry about the latter, the former ended up delivering an extra dose of annoying MC. I wasn’t a fan of Lali from the get go. I’d be a bit freaked too if I discovered I could have out of body experiences but I feel like Lali’s freak outs were over the top. Sometimes I’d wish that she’d cool down a bit so we could get some explanations. This is when the story started dragging for me. Every chapter brought something new to freak out about and I was sick of it already.

You know what this book was full of? Lies, lies and yep…you guessed it: more lies. As a reader, seeing all this play out, I didn’t like it. It got old really quickly and to cover up for one lie, more lies would be added. And I’m not just talking about Lali. This entire book was just one big lie.

The supporting characters…can I even talk about them? To be honest, how this book played out it was all about Lali. So do they even matter? As long as she got everything she wanted, things were okay, right? *cue eye roll* Another thing this book was: complicated. One disaster after another and nothing could fix it.

I expected a lot more from this book but that’s okay. I’m just glad I could finish it even though I was so close to DNF’ing it.

As I said above: I liked nothing about this book except the writing style. The idea was a good one and I feel like the plot could’ve gone far but it wasn’t executed very well. I will not be continuing this series.

Read: 23 April 2017
Rating: ★.5

Publication Date: 19 September 2015
Publisher: Terracotta Rose Publishing in association with Fuzzy Hedgehog Press
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: K.J. McPike

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

2 thoughts on “eARC Book Review: XODUS by K.J. McPike

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #13 | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up: April 2017 (and May TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

