Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#19): Ruby Red

The Book

Ruby Red (Precious Stone Trilogy, #1)

The Ruby Red Trilogy is a series of three fantasy novels by German writer Kerstin Gier. The three books are: Ruby Red, Sapphire Blue and Emerald Green. The books have been translated into over twenty-seven languages and sold internationally. The series follows the story of Gwyneth Shepherd, a time-traveling girl living in contemporary London. Nobody knows that Gwyneth has the time traveling gene, except for her and her friend Lesley.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I read Ruby Red years ago as part of a buddy read and it was the first time I had ever heard of the series. While I enjoyed the book, it wasn’t the best I’ve ever read. I was actually thinking of not continuing the series until I heard that the second book was even better. I liked the idea of time-travel and a secret organisation and I do think that Kerstin Gier really made the plot come alive but as this was the first book, it mostly consisted of world building. There was a lot of predictability going on in this book and if I had read this book today I don’t think I would’ve liked it. It seemed a bit…juvenile.

The Movie

Related imageRuby Red (German: Rubinrot) is a 2013 German fantasy film based on the book with the same name by Kerstin Gier.[1] A sequel was produced in 2014 under the title Sapphire Blue (German: Saphirblau), followed in 2016 by Emerald Green (German: Smaragdgrün).

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

I finally watched the movie and boy was it an experience. I checked it out to see if I had gotten the German or English dubbed version and ended up watching 15 minutes before I had to pause since I was trying to finish a book at the time. There were a few changes made but I could overlook most of them because I legit thought the movie was good. Have you ever watched an anime/k-drama that was originally supposed to be Japanese or Korean but it was dubbed in English? Sounds wrong. I could ignore the fact that the words and lip movements weren’t synchronised for the most part but my eye still got a bit…twitchy.

The Decision

Oh, the movie. Definitely. I’d re-watch it and start the story from the beginning over and over again. Not to mention, the cast is gorgeous! Charlotte’s hair is just amazing. I couldn’t help but get Clary vibes with that tone of red.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

2 thoughts on “Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#19): Ruby Red

    • I’m in the process of watching Sappire Blue and I think I prefer the German over the English. I suggest watching the original if you don’t mind subtitles. Glad I could be of help. Thanks for commenting 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

