Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)

Goodreads Synopsis

Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two.


If you haven’t read A Court of Thorns and Roses it’s best not to read this review.

A Court of Mist and Fury takes place about 3 months after the events of ACOTAR. In this time, not too much has happened but it seems that the major situations were saved for the rest of this book. From the first page, we’re thrown into this world and now that Feyre is a High Fae, we see the world the way she sees it. She’s no longer a ‘mere human’ that doesn’t understand. She’s learning and we’re right there along with her.

I’m trying my utmost not to make this review a rant about how I feel about Tamlin but easier said than done. I didn’t really like him in ACOTAR and I was cool with that but the way that changed for me in the second book is like zero to a hundred real quick. I don’t want to say ‘hate’ because it’s a really strong word but what I feel for Tamlin is not a nice feeling. I can’t describe it and the worst [possibly the best] thing about all this is that I probably despise him so much because he was so well written. SJM allowed that darkness I felt to settle in and build throughout the book. We along with Feyre were ignorant to who and what Tamlin really was. Remember, in ACOTAR he was this sweet-ish character that was drool-worthy and SJM’s made a total 180 where he is concerned.

Feyre on the other hand…my opinion of her between ACOTAR and ACOMAF has changed so drastically. She was never weak- come on, she hunted alone in the woods- but at the same time she wasn’t someone I could look up to as a role model. She had her strong points and by the time this book started almost all of them were made null and void. She didn’t have the freedom to express and explore this new version of her. She was pushed down and made to be this weak thing that needed to be looked after. She didn’t know and that’s the thing. Love made her so blind that she was willing to suffer, albeit involuntarily, because she was convinced that this was where she belonged. The moment she broke free though…

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.”

The amount of character development that took place in this book, not just with my dear Feyre, but with Rhysand as well. I can’t imagine how difficult it is to trust anyone after you’ve given someone everything. Feyre rose like a phoenix and come out being this strong character, not just physical but mentally and emotionally as well.

My darling Rhysand. My amazing, dark, mysterious, charming love, Rhys. I loved him in ACOTAR of course, but the contrast between the two books was so phenomenal I’m still grinning like the dang cheshire cat. He already was this great character that I loved, with how well he was written and the way he was portrayed but the way he grew in ACOMAF makes me feel so proud because I believed in him. I knew there was something more to him than this facade he put up for everyone. Most of the time I just wanted to give him a hug.

The supporting characters that were introduced in this book were a lot more involved and I loved that. They were featured and talked about so often that it felt like they were part of the main cast, which in a way, I think they were. You couldn’t have one without the other. I appreciate that SJM gave them backstories because I think that it helped with knowing who those characters really were. It definitely helped me decided who and who not to trust…you know, since SJM just loves ripping my heart out.

“No one was my master— but I might be master of everything, if I wished. If I dared.”

I’d been told before I even started ACOTAR that this book was way better and I thought it was an exaggeration because I loved the first one so much. Let me tell you that I can’t begin to explain how much better this book was. SJM’s writing has never been a problem for me so I went in having high expectations and I was not disappointed. Is it bad that my trust in her writing is so high? I think that so much emotion was put in this book and the roller coaster of feelings I went through definitely proves that. I felt real anger, love, sadness, betrayal and sometimes disgust and I think those made for an even greater read.

I am so eager for ACOWAR that it’s not even funny. I have this book hangover and I don’t know what to do with my life now that I’m in this in between of finishing one book and still waiting for another book to come out. This is why I wait to read books. Thank you SJM for killing me with your amazing writing. And now…I wait. Send help!

Read: 31 March 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Publication Date: 3 May 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #12 | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up: April 2017 (and May TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

