Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#18): Jane Eyre

The Book

Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre /ˈɛər/ (originally published as Jane Eyre: An Autobiography) is a novel by English writer Charlotte Brontë. It was published on 16 October 1847, by Smith, Elder & Co. of London, England, under the pen name “Currer Bell.” The first American edition was published the following year by Harper & Brothers of New York.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I read this book for the first time last year and I kept switching between different editions in order to find the one that suited me. I liked the book well enough till I came upon this quote: “He made me love him without looking at me.” and I promptly fell in love. It’s not the part that Jane’s love for Mr. Rochester seems unrequited but something about that quote made me want to catch my breath. To me it was so powerful and captivating that I almost wanted to pity Jane. Another quote that can’t be forgotten: “I desired liberty; for liberty I gasped; for liberty I uttered a prayer; it seemed scattered on the wind then faintly blowing.” This quote comes before the one where Jane actually stops running and admits what she feels but it was the first one I mentioned that made me deem the book my all time favourite. I took way too long to finish this book but that was before I realised what an amazing piece of work it is. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time.

The Movie

Related image

Jane Eyre is a 2011 British romantic drama film directed by Cary Fukunaga and starring Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender. The screenplay is written by Moira Buffini based on the 1847 novel of the same name by Charlotte Brontë. The film was released on 11 March 2011 in the United States and 9 September in Great Britain and Ireland.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

I have to be honest and say it was because of the movie that I was even remotely interested in the book. It was a few years ago when Jane Eyre was showing on TV and I passed by and saw Jane literally running for the hills and I thought ‘Hmm, this looks interesting.’. Because it’s taken me so long to get into Classics, I held off reading the book and thank the heavens for that because I don’t think I would’ve enjoyed the story as much. I watched the movie recently and I have to say that I liked it a lot. I did notice a few changes here and there but they weren’t too major so it wasn’t a big deal. One thing I will always find ironic: Michael Fassbender cast as a man described to have absolutely no handsome features at all. I mean come on! It’s Michael Fassbender. When he asked Jane if she thought he was handsome and she said no, I had to add my own commentary and say ‘Liar.’ That too doesn’t bother me, I just find it funny is all.

The Decision

As much as I liked the movie- I found it way too funny than the story was intended to be- but the book will always win over my heart. It’s my favourite so I can’t not choose it. I am glad though, that an adaptation of my favourite book just so happens to be an amazing piece of visual art.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

3 thoughts on “Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#18): Jane Eyre

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #11 | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Jane Eyre is probably my favorite classic, too (or at least tied with Dorian Gray and A Christmas Carol), and I also really liked the movie. But, even though I somehow didn’t know who Michael Fassbender was before I watched it, I rolled my eyes so hard at that part because both of them were way more attractive than their novel counterparts haha. It was still good, overall, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read those two classics you mentioned yet but they’re on my list. I can’t believe I was reluctant to read this genre as I’m finding so many gems. I’m hoping to take on Les Mis and Sense and Sensibility this year.

      I’m a huge Marvel fan so I first saw him in the X-Men Chronicles as young Magneto. I was honestly expecting them to cast an older man but oh well. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

