Book Review: Revival Vol.2: Live Like You Mean It by Tim Seeley

Revival, Vol. 2: Live Like You Mean It

Goodreads Synopsis

For one day in rural central Wisconsin, the dead came back to life. Now, the living and the recently-returned struggle to maintain a sense of normalcy, amidst political and religious conflicts.

Collects REVIVAL #6-11.

>>>>>>><<<<<<<


I think it’s safe to say, right off the bat, that Vol.2 was so much better than Vol.1.

Not much went on in the first volume so there wasn’t much to say. It felt more like an introduction of characters and this volume expanded on them as well as on the story. I’ll be honest and say that I didn’t remember much from the first one and as I read more of Vol.2, more images came to mind.

There’s not much to say about the artwork that I haven’t said before. Since it was done by the same artist, my opinion is still the same. It’s really excellent work and I had a fun time admiring the pictures. I feel like I went through this comic a lot quicker (I didn’t) than I did the first one and I would’ve probably finished it on the same day if I didn’t get distracted. Back to the artwork, I really love how much detail was put in. This is a zombie-esque comic so one can expect there to be lots of dismembered body parts and occasional shooting and these scenes were so beautifully drawn, it’s hard to turn away from.

There was something different about this volume. I’m not exactly sure what it was but I felt more drawn in and I’m very eager to continue this series. I found myself getting annoyed at the smallest thing that distracted me because I felt that it took away from the enjoyment.

By the end of this volume, I found myself not really liking Dana. I was okay with her in volume 1 but something shifted for me in this one that I don’t much care for her. I definitely prefer Em and find that there are a lot of places where this can go with her. She doesn’t share much and seems pretty quiet most of the time but when she releases all that pent up energy…it’s a sight to see.

I like how with the way Seeley wrote this is that even though a character seems minor for the moment, they will show up again. Maybe something small they did that you didn’t think was too important ended up being part of something bigger later on.

I’m definitely addicted to this series now. Hopefully I can next the next volume ASAP.

See my review of Revival Vol.1 here.

Read: 5 April 2017
Rating: ★★★★

Publication Date: 17 July 2013
Publisher: Image Comics
Writer: Tim Seeley
Illustrator: Mike Norton

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

One thought on “Book Review: Revival Vol.2: Live Like You Mean It by Tim Seeley

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: April 2017 (and May TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

