Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#17): The Twilight Saga

I’ve been putting this off because of reasons. Come on, it’s Twilight. It started many, if not most, bookworms love for reading but it’s still like that one weird cousin we’d rather avoid. That reminds me…I should really get to that reread I promised myself I’d do.

The Books

Twilight (Twilight, #1) New Moon (Twilight, #2) Eclipse (Twilight, #3) Breaking Dawn (Twilight, #4)

Twilight is a series of four vampire-themed fantasy romance novels by American author Stephenie Meyer. Released annually from 2005 through 2008, the four books chart the later teen years of Isabella “Bella” Swan, a girl who moves to Forks, Washington, and falls in love with a 104-year-old vampire named Edward Cullen.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I remember jumping on the Twilight band wagon just when the movie was announced and I proceeded to read all the books because 13 year old me thought ‘it was cool’. I ended up falling in love with the series and by the end of Twilight I was certain that Edward Cullen was going to be who I’d marry one day…till I met werewolf Jacob Black in New Moon. I haven’t read these books as an adult so I don’t know how I’d feel about them now but I do remember thinking that these were the best books on the market and it kick started my vampire obsession. The only reason I ended up hating this saga is because it was so mainstream and it was what everybody was into at the time so it stopped being something I loved. Part of it was the strange acting in the movies but we’ll get to that. I would definitely reread this series but I prefer Twilight Reimagined to the original books.

The Movies

Image result for twilight movie posters Image result for new moon movie posters Image result for twilight movies Image result for breaking dawn part 1 poster Image result for twilight movies

The Twilight Saga is a series of five romance fantasy films from Summit Entertainment based on the four novels by American author Stephenie Meyer. The films star Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson, and Taylor Lautner. The series has grossed over $3.3 billion in worldwide receipts and consists, to date, of five motion pictures.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

I remember screaming when Edward walked into the cafeteria. I remember my boyfriend probably contemplating breaking up with me when I fawned over Jacob removing his shirt after Bella’s motorcycle accident. Basically I remember falling so in love with this saga as a whole. Sometimes I get the urge to binge-watch it just because. As much as I loved to say that I despise this series- I don’t anymore- I can’t deny that it was a huge part of my teenage years. The first movie was released when I started 8th grade and the last soon after I started my senior year. I like knowing that I was a part of all the craziness that happened. It brings back silly memories that I’m quite fond of. (Even though I had already moved on to The Vampire Diaries while this Twilight craze was still strong- going against the stream there, Caron)

The Decision

I have a separate decision for each. For Eclipse and Breaking Dawn, I’d definitely go with the books. I’ve probably read Breaking Dawn about twice or thrice and can remember getting into trouble for bringing it to school (ridiculous really). For Twilight and New Moon I prefer the movies because I enjoyed them a lot better than I did the books. I didn’t like really like the first movie but as the series went on I realised that it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was. The book for New Moon was just crazy. I ended up losing my copy and I was never in a hurry to replace it. The movie was just yes! I do plan to reread the entire series in the future and see how I feel about it as an adult.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

