Beauty and the Beast: Animation vs. Live-Action

Once upon a time, in a faraway land…

giphy2

I finally managed to watch the Live-Action remake of Beauty and the Beast and in all honesty…I thought it was great. If I had to give it a rating out of ten, I’d give it an easy eight.

As I mentioned in a post a while ago, I re-watched the animation so I could refresh my memory and to better put the two side by side.

I had high hopes going in this movie and I wasn’t disappointed. I did notice a few changes here and there and for the most part, I welcomed them. What first got me was the female narration -done by Hattie Morahan- in the prologue. I have no problem with it being a female’s voice (duh, I am one) but I was so used to it being a male’s that I was thrown for a second. By the time we got to the end of it I felt like she was a pretty good fit. It’ll probably take some time for me to get used to but I’m not about to make a mountain out of a molehill.

I think the cast was excellent and I’m so glad that they managed to capture a story that’s been a part of so many of our childhoods.

Tale as old as time…

giphy1

Actually putting the two movies side by side was almost like a fun game I was playing in the cinema. Every time I’d see a familiar scene I’d go: ‘Oh, that’s just like the animation!’ I practically held my breath throughout this entire movie because I was hoping it was going to live up to the hype and live up it did!

The music, the cast, the acting, the storyline, the added humour that wasn’t featured in the animation was amazing! I’d read somewhere that LeFou was going to be slightly more humorous in the live-action and I can’t remember if it was supposed to make the plot lighter or what. I did laugh quite a few times and I’m glad that it wasn’t overdone.

beauty-and-beast-2017-dance-gif

Don’t leave. I love you.

Reader, I cried. I’m telling you now. I cried real baby tears. They made the near-ending so much more emotional and I don’t think it’s ever had that kind of effect on me before. This was one of the things I especially loved about the movie. Another difference I liked between the two is how the live-action seemed to offer more to the plot. I can’t really put it into words but I felt like they went into more detail and a bigger picture was painted for us.

giphy3

Overall, I loved this movie quite a bit! I’ll always love the original more because that’s where all of this started for me but I’m glad that the live-action exceeded my expectations. I can only hope that the other live-actions Disney’s planning come even a little bit close.

Thanks for stopping by,
Caron xx

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

*Source: Gifs taken from Giphy

2 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast: Animation vs. Live-Action

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#10) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

