Book Review: An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare and Cassandra Jean

31298846Goodreads Synopsis

A very special anthology that’s a must for all fans of the Shadowhunter novels!

Featuring characters from Cassandra Clare’s international best-selling novels from the Shadowhunters world including The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices and The Dark Artifices, this anthology showcases beautifully illustrated portraits from Cassandra Jean – creator of The Shadowhunter Tarot – alongside never-before-known details from Cassandra Clare about all your favourite characters.


An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld is a book that puts together short snippets of the characters of the Shadowhunter Chronicles i.e. The Infernal Devices, The Last Hours, The Mortal Instruments, Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy and The Dark Artifices. It includes drawings of the characters (by Cassandra Jean) as they were described in the books. I for one am very happy with how they turned out because many of them were how I imagined but now I get to put faces to the names.

I loved everything about this book. I specifically wanted the black cover because I think it looks so refined and classy. My sister told me this book would make a great coffee table book and I glared at her so hard. I feel like this book should be on permanent display in my bookshelves, it’s so pretty. I’m glad I finally managed to get my hands on this and to think that I initially didn’t want it because I thought it’d be pointless. Well that was a mistake on my part because I’m so in love with it. I read it the same day I got it and I thought I’d just browse through but I ended up actually sitting down and taking note of everything. I still have a smile on my face. And little Max! ‘He wants to be a pirate.’ He’s the most adorable little boy ever!

Along with the drawings and snippets, each character is given a flower or plant with a meaning that relates to them. I found this to be ingenious and I appreciate the amount of effort that was put into achieving this beautiful book.

 

Above are examples of what’s inside. I can’t wait to pick up this book again. I felt so happy while reading it and I actually laughed out loud a few times. For now it’ll rest next to my other Shadowhunter books. Till next time, my love.

Read: 18 March 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Publication Date: 18 February 2016
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Children’s UK
Writer: Cassandra Clare
Illustrator: Cassandra Jean

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

One thought on “Book Review: An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters and Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare and Cassandra Jean

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#10) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

