Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#16): The Hunger Games

The Book

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)

The Hunger Games is a 2008 dystopian novel by the American writer Suzanne Collins. It is written in the voice of 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives in the future, post-apocalyptic nation of Panem in North America. The Capitol, a highly advanced metropolis, exercises political control over the rest of the nation. The Hunger Games is an annual event in which one boy and one girl aged 12–18 from each of the twelve districts surrounding the Capitol are selected by lottery to compete in a televised battle to the death.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Goodreads

I received this book as a birthday gift from a friend after a brief argument debate about the fact that I hadn’t read the book nor watched the movie (Catching Fire was already out by this point) so he bought me the book as a hint to get on with the program. I enjoyed the it a lot! It probably took me a day or two to finish and I quickly fell in love with the characters. I’m absolutely sure that this is not a world I’d want to live in. No thank you.

The Movie

Image result for the hunger games movie

The Hunger Games is a 2012 American dystopian science fiction adventure film directed by Gary Ross and based on the novel of the same name by Suzanne Collins. It is the first installment in The Hunger Games film series and was produced by Nina Jacobson and Jon Kilik, with a screenplay by Ross, Collins, and Billy Ray.

Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Google Images

I’ve probably watched The Hunger Games twice since it came out, the first time was on purpose and the second was random background noise while I was reading or something. I liked the movie well enough to complete it that first time but I had many bones to pick and pick them I did. I do think the cast was amazing (albeit a bit old) so that’s okay I guess. President Snow though…no redemption for that a** to be honest.

The Decision

Oh, definitely the book! I remember it clearly. *cue flashback* Hunger Games was the first book that I compared to a movie. I watched the movie a few minutes after I finished the book and I came out feeling so angry. They changed so many things. I was even mad at the shade of green Katniss’ shirt on the train was. The movie is watchable but it wasn’t the best.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

2 thoughts on “Movie/TV Show vs. Book (#16): The Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

