Book Review: Mia Goes Fourth by Meg Cabot

169299Goodreads Synopsis

Never before has the world seen such a princess.

Nor have her own subjects, for that matter. Mia’s royal introduction to Genovia has mixed results: while her fashion sense is widely applauded, her position on the installation of public parking meters is met with resistance.

But the politics of bureaucracy are nothing next to Mia’s real troubles. Between canceled dates with her long—sought—after royal consort, a second semester of the dreaded Algebra, more princess lessons from Grandmère as a result of the Genovian parking—meter thing, and the inability to stop gnawing on her fingernails, isn’t there anything Mia is good at besides inheriting an unwanted royal title?


Mia Goes Fourth takes place just before Mia has to go back to school for her second semester. Yes, you read that right. Just before she went back to school. I was actually looking forward to her touring the castle and Genovia in general but that didn’t happen. Instead she complained about failed speeches, meetings and parking meters, oh and of course…Michael’s unclear stance on loving her as a friend or more. Every. Dang. Page!

If you hadn’t noticed by the above, I didn’t like this book. My rating would’ve been a dead giveaway in any case. When reading a book, there’s only one thing I ask for -besides good writing- and that’s a protagonist that won’t make me want to throttle them. The older I get, it seems I get more annoyed at obvious immaturity. There’s a difference between innocence and just plain stupidity. Mia’s stupidity in this novel made her immaturity come so much into the light I’m sure I would’ve needed sunglasses if it got any brighter. I’m not saying that all teenagers are stupid or immature, but Mia definitely was. I was reminded constantly just how young she is and how little she knows of life. My main clue: her constant fretting over whether Michael loved her as just a friend or whether he was going to dump her because she wouldn’t be able to make their date.

Lilly wasn’t a bother to me in this book. And there were times I wish Lilly would shut Mia up- which she did a time or two- because I couldn’t deal with her anymore.

I don’t know what it was about this book in particular because Mia has basically had a one track mind in the other books as well, but this book made me almost hate her. I feel like this book wasn’t needed. It was nothing more than a filler. We didn’t get to see Genovia at all, Mia listened to her grandmother- I mean seriously! You know that woman’s out to get you, why even take her advice?. She made me wonder if I too was thing annoying when I was 14.

**Just a little extra thing here: I felt a bit strange (I don’t want to say offended because I think that’s too strong a word for what I want to say) that they used Jane Eyre as a means of relationship advice/material. Jane Eyre wasn’t about ‘getting the guy and keeping him’, it was about a woman refusing to be tied down and treated the way society deemed ‘proper’. She went against the social barriers and put herself first. Not so that she could get the guy, but because she wanted to be certain of herself as an individual! …Okay so maybe I was a tad bit offended. Give me a break, it’s my favourite book so I noticed.

One day when I re-read this series, I’ll probably ignore this book completely since nothing of great importance happened here. I shall continue on with the next books but of this one I was not a fan.

Reviews of other books in the series:

Read: 24 February 2017
Rating:
 ★★

Publication Date: 6 September 2003
Publisher: MacMillan
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Meg Cabot

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

One thought on “Book Review: Mia Goes Fourth by Meg Cabot

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#9) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

