Book Review: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

25909686Goodreads Synopsis

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by an uncle he’s never met – a man his mother claimed was dangerous. His uncle tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .


The Sword of Summer is Rick Riordan’s take on Norse Mythology narrated by Magnus Chase. As we know, sixteen is a very important age to demigods and this is made clear when he finds out that not only is his dad a Norse god but that there is a fire giant after him.

“My name is Magnus Chase. I’m sixteen years old. This is the story of how my life went downhill after I got myself killed.”

I thought that this book started out pretty good and since I’m a big fan of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians series as well as The Heroes of Olympus, I had high hopes for this book. I will not compare Rick’s Roman/Greek mythology books to the Norse as that’s not what we’re here for.  The beginning of the book promised a wild and entertaining story and while there were quite a few high points, this was not my favourite. The writing was as amazing as I hoped it would be and if it weren’t for my lack of interest in the world itself, I would’ve gone through this a lot quicker. I don’t know if it’s Norse mythology in general that I don’t like but I wasn’t fully grasped by this story and I don’t see myself continuing this series at the moment.

The characters were fun to get to know but they were nothing to write home about. They didn’t have that ‘wow factor’. Odin reminded me a lot of Dumbledore, which I found weird. I do like that we learnt more about the world of Norse mythology but I have to say that not much knowledge was put out there. We got snippets here and there but not enough to give us a full picture- not even half a picture really. As I said, no comparing, but almost everything about this book seemed way too familiar and I think that’s the main reason why I didn’t completely enjoy it.

The actual story took a bit long to get on and I felt that about 60% of this book dragged. There’s a time for when to be serious and when jokes are okay and Magnus didn’t seem to get that. I knew that the story was going somewhere but it was taking forever and there came a point when I was starting to get annoyed because nothing of import was happening. The battle was anticlimactic. I honestly expected a lot more from it and most of the time I wasn’t at the end of my seat. I feel like this was a long and unneeded journey that could’ve possibly been wrapped up in a smaller book.

The last 20 chapters did go by pretty fast and I wish that the whole book was as fast paced. There are too many things I did not like about this book and I’d have to be heavily persuaded into continuing this series which I don’t see happening.

Read: 12 March 2017
Rating: ★★★

Publication Date: 6 October 2015
Publisher: Puffin Books
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Rick Riordan

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: March 2017 (and April TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#9) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

