My Week and Happenings #8

Back again with yet another odd week. Not bad, but I’ve been thinking more about what I want from myself and that acceptance is an important thing.

I’m used to thinking very negatively and I had to basically train myself out of that but sometimes those negative thoughts seep through and once it’s there I can’t get rid of it. That’s why I’ve decided to just accept things as they come, in the sense of the Serenity Prayer- ‘God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.’ You know how it goes. I panic and I stress and maybe I can’t help the stressing but I can at least control some portion of my life that the things that seem impossible won’t mean the end of the world in my head. Does that make sense? Yea, for me neither.

Enough of that morbid stuff. On to the more pleasing events of my week. I finally managed to watch Logan on Sunday and it was amazing! There were tears in my eyes and I so want to watch it again. I’d rate it a 11/10 would recommend. Beauty and the Beast premiered yesterday and I’m probably going to watch it either this weekend or early next week. It depends on my mood and whether I’m good to go. I wrote a post about why Beauty and the Beast is my favourite fairytale so you can go check that out here.

Speaking of posts, I’ve decided to bring back the Movie/TV Show vs. Book segment (New post just went up- it’s for A Series of Unfortunate Events. See here). There are so many books that are being made into movies and series and a whole lot of them that’ve been out for a while so I figured I’d dive in those a bit more. Besides, this is a good thing for me. Because of this segment I have found so many new books which is not too good for my already huge TBR but I love learning new things. It’s a win-win really.

I started Before I Fall because as you could guess from the above, it’s part of the segment. The movie also premiered yesterday. I was hoping to finish the book before the movie came out but it’s okay. I’ve got about a week to finish it. And I need to finish this one review book and then I’ll divert all my attention to Before I Fall. I also started a new review notebook. As I’m reading, instead of adding sticky tabs to my book, I write my thoughts in the notebook. This works better as sometimes I forget to mark off pages and reviews can get a bit…difficult. A review: Crying Over Spilt Light by George Saoulidis. See here.

MEFCC (Middle East Film and Comic Convention) is in less than a month, 3 weeks to be exact and I’m not going this year. I’ve gone every year for the past three years and I’ve decided not to go this year because I didn’t financially plan for it and I guess I just want a new experience where Comic Con is concerned. I’m not too bummed about it so we’re good. Also about things that I didn’t financially plan for…LORD OF SHADOWS AND HOW TO BE A BAWSE! Well, I planned but that plan was thrown into the gutter- relating to the acceptance thing- and now I might not get either book as it releases. This sucks because I’ve been looking forward to those since the announcements but once again, I should accept that this is the way it is and I shouldn’t make a mountain out of a molehill.

Holy shucks this post is long. This all went on this week yea, nothing happened last week that’s why I didn’t post anything. Wow, it’s almost as if I have an interesting life. Guys! A good thing happened yesterday. So our local supermarket/mart thing had copies of Fantastic Beasts the screenplay and I wanted to price check it just in case I want to buy it-it was too expensive but that’s unimportant now- I found An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters & Denizens of Downworld by Cassandra Clare and Cassandra Jean. I recently decided that I need this book in my possession because reasons and I’ve been looking for it allover. This market thing has it! I was so happy. Imagine me squealing in the middle of the aisle, slowly losing my mind. My sister said it would make a good coffee table book. *Scoffs* coffee table book. No way. This baby is being displayed on the shelves with lights and a huge banner marking it’s importance.

I think that’s about it for now. Emphasis on the ‘for now’ part. Oh yea! I finally got the white sneakers I wanted- kinda, it’ll do.

Thanks for tuning in,
Caron xx

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

