Movie/ TV Show vs Book (#15): A Series of Unfortunate Events [Books 1-4]

This will only be about the first 4 books as the first season was adapted from those.

The Books

The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1) The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #2) The Wide Window The Miserable Mill. Lemony Snicket

A Series of Unfortunate Events is a series of thirteen children’s novels by Lemony Snicket (the pen name of American author Daniel Handler), which follows the turbulent lives of Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire after their parents’ death in a fire. The children are placed in the custody of a murderous relative, Count Olaf, who attempts to steal their inheritance and, later, orchestrates numerous disasters with the help of his accomplices as the children attempt to flee their clutches.

Source: Wikipedia

I took way too long to start this series but hey, better late than never. These novels are such quick reads and even as a person in their 20s, I’m finding them extremely enjoyable. Count Olaf is a villain I love to hate and I think he was probably the villain for me growing up. I initially wanted to wait till I had the entire series before I started but the announcement of the TV Show came and I put myself on a book buying ban so I read what I had. I’m excited for the day I finally finish all 13 books because what I’ve read so far already put me on this emotional rollercoaster. Is is bad that I think that maybe my life isn’t so bad because it doesn’t come close to what the Baudelaires are experiencing?

Movie/TV Show

Image result for a series of unfortunate events movie

Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events is a 2004 American dark comedy film directed by Brad Silberling. It is a film adaptation of A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket, covering the first three novels The Bad Beginning, The Reptile Room, and The Wide Window. The film stars Jim Carrey, Liam Aiken, Emily Browning, Timothy Spall, Catherine O’Hara, Billy Connolly, Cedric the Entertainer, Luis Guzmán, Jennifer Coolidge, and Meryl Streep as well as Jude Law as the voice of Lemony Snicket.

Source: Wikipedia

I watched this movie quite a few times growing up and I had no idea that it was based on a series. I found out about the books when I joined the book world and promptly started looking for the books. I loved the movie and I still make sure I watch it whenever it comes on TV. It wasn’t until I actually started reading the books that I realised how much was changed and left out. Even the order was all wrong. That didn’t take away from my enjoyment. Jim Carrey made for an awesome Count Olaf though.

Image result for a series of unfortunate events netflix poster

Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, or simply A Series of Unfortunate Events, is an American black comedydrama[4] television series from Netflix, and developed by Mark Hudis and Barry Sonnenfeld,[2] based on the children’s novel series of the same name by Lemony Snicket. It stars Neil Patrick Harris, Patrick Warburton, Malina Weissman, Louis Hynes, K. Todd Freeman and Presley Smith.

Source: Wikipedia

The first season of the TV Show only focuses on the first four books of the series. Even though it’s only those four, we got 8 hours worth of plot and action and amazing scenes that is impossible to dislike. As a booknerd, I don’t mean to look for changes and mistakes, it just happens automatically, but I’d give the show 11/10 if I could. I liked everything they did with it. It’s a lot like ‘for the fans by the fans’. It ticked all the boxes for me and I can’t wait for season 2.

*Btw season 2 was announced this week along with this message: A Series of Unfortunate Events | A Miserable Message | Netflix Take note of the highlighted lettersSeason 2 will be the adaptation of books 5-9; The Austere Academy, The Ersatz Elevator, The Vile Village, The Hostile Hospital and The Carnivorous Carnival.

The Decision

It’s a battle between the books and the TV show but I think I’ll go with the show here only because I like the visual effects we’re given. Also, who can ignore Neil Patrick Harris. Dude’s awesome.

Source: All images (except bookcovers) taken from Google Images

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

One thought on “Movie/ TV Show vs Book (#15): A Series of Unfortunate Events [Books 1-4]

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #8 | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

