Beauty and the Beast: My Favourite Fairytale

‘Once upon a time, in a faraway land, a young prince lived in a shining castle. Although he had everything his heart desired, the prince was spoiled, selfish, and unkind. But then, one winter’s night, an old beggar-woman came to the castle, and offered him a single rose in return for shelter from the bitter cold. Repulsed by her haggard appearance, the prince sneered at the gift and turned the old woman away. But she warned him not to be deceived by appearances, for beauty is found within. And when he dismissed her again, the old woman’s ugliness melted away, to reveal a beautiful Enchantress. The prince tried to apologize, but it was too late, for she had seen that there was no love in his heart. And as punishment, she transformed him into a hideous beast, and placed a powerful spell on the castle, and all who lived there. Ashamed of his monstrous form, the Beast concealed himself inside his castle, with a magic mirror as his only window to the outside world. The rose she had offered was truly an enchanted rose, which would bloom until his 21st year. If he could learn to love another, and earn her love in return, by the time the last petal fell, then the spell would be broken. If not, he would be doomed to remain a Beast for all time. As the years passed, he fell into despair, and lost all hope. For who could ever learn to love a beast?’

giphy3

Beauty and the Beast has been one of my favourite fairytales for as long as I can remember. I don’t know what first drew me to it but I do know what caused me to stay and grow to love it more and more each time I experienced the story.

I was probably about five or six when I first watched the Disney movie and I was so engrossed in the story, the narration, the characters and the amazing plot. I remember falling in love with Belle and being scared of the Beast. I remember drooling over Gaston and thinking LeFou was so silly. When the Beast opened the doors to the library I was so enamoured because I had never seen so many books before. Bookworm dream come true to be honest.

I think it officially became my all time favourite once I myself became a lover of books. It had been years since I watched the movie, the last time being just before I graduated high school, but I decided to watch it again a little bit ago and man! I have forgotten how great it actually is. I love books so much and seeing a character who loves books just as much, who wants to do nothing but read all day…did anybody say spirit animal? Uh, spirit person?

giphy

Gaston on the other hand…while I think that yes, as a specimen he is intimidating, and no one’s neck could ever be as thick his, nor could anyone be as quick as he but…dude’s an a-hole. My heart basically leaped out of my chest when he just grabbed the book out of Belle’s hand and chucked it in the mud! If your conceitedness wasn’t a major factor in Belle not accepting your proposal, that stunt would’ve certainly turned her away. What a horrible thing to do. I have nothing against people who don’t like to read but there’s something to be said about people who think that reading is this…this abominable crime.

giphy1

The Beast though! It was meant for us to be afraid of him. I think that was part of the point of the curse. Not just that he wasn’t ‘attractive’ but that he was completely unsightly. People wouldn’t want to look at something that scares them so the enchantress achieved the desired effect. 

Apart from the point that books are important and should be treated as precious gems, what Beauty and the Beast also teaches us is that we shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover. It could be ratty and torn and even though people don’t want those damaged books, those could be the very ones that have hearts of gold. We judge people based on our perception of them and everyone views a person the way they want to but it’s up to us to decide whether we want to shun them because they don’t look like us and/or do things that we consider the norm or if we’ll take them for what they are without trying to change them and mold them to our image. Basically what I’m saying is: Beauty and the Beast teaches us not tolerance, but acceptance and I think that’s extremely important for everyone.

That was my take on Beauty and the Beast and why I love it so much. I’ll definitely be watching a lot more often and of course the new movie! Come on! I thought this post fit right in this week as of course the live action premiered and everyone’s excitement is all over the place. Mine included.

Thanks for stopping by,
Caron xx

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

*Source: Gifs taken from Giphy

3 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast: My Favourite Fairytale

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #8 | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. I just finished reading the fairytale. Obviously, prepping for the movie. I love he tale as well as your article. My favourite tale still remains Cinderella though! 😜😜 nice one..😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment! I’ve never read the original fairytale but I hope to soon. Snow White was probably my second favourite growing up. Cinderella is also another beautiful take. I hope you enjoy the movie whenever you watch it. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

