eARC Book Review: Crying Over Spilt Light by George Saoulidis

Crying Over Spilt Light

Goodreads Synopsis

What If You Could Hire Your Own Personal Muse?

On the verge of abandoning his life-long project, an obsessive physicist hires the innovative service of an android Muse to help him finish his work. But when things start to go missing from his life, he must learn that not all is worth sacrificing on the altar of science before he has nothing left to live for.

Do you want to know what’s next for poor-but-brilliant Yanni? Do you wanna meet the Muse? Then read this unique sci-fi thriller that toys with the very concept of inspiration.

From ScifiSelect: “Inspired by Dan Simmons’ Ilium, this fast-paced world blossomed into dozens of intertwined stories spanning all subgenres, from mystery to action to young adult and is certain to keep you at the edge of your seat.

What is the god complex universe?

The gods are back in town. Skyscrapers pop out of nowhere all over Athens. Corporations rename themselves as Greek gods. It all started with the Greek crisis of 2009 and will forever change the world as we know it.
Some say that CEO’s have gone mad. Others, that they know damn well what they are doing. That there is something solid amongst the myth. In the day of inter-connectivity and social media admiration, can the myths come back to life?

What happens when a corporation gets a god complex? Find out in our series of books on Kindle. Described as light cyberpunk, definitely sci-fi and with a fresh twist on Greek mythology.

Visit http://www.mythographystudios.com/the…


I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Again with all the information given in the synopsis and none in the actual story. *Cue dramatic eye roll*

Crying Over Spilt Light is a book that’s kind of difficult to explain simply because even though I’ve read it, and I understood most of what was going on, I feel like this book needs to be read in order to grasp the full effect. It’s easy to say that it’s about a man who’s stuck in the labyrinth of his mind and his goal is to find the answer to his life-long project. To find that Eureka moment. See? Easy. Thing is though, as annoyed as the layout of this book made me, I can’t say I hated it, because I didn’t.

Another thing: I’m glad I waited a while to write this review because I was so pissed off and I honestly have no idea why. I was ranting about this book but none of the rants make sense. Again I say, read the book because what I say wouldn’t come close to what you’ll experience. *Ignore my 2 star rating. That’s my stubbornness taking effect.

‘[About light] “It spills out, like milk from a fallen bottle. And there is no use crying over spilt milk.'”

I’ll be honest and say I didn’t like the story because it’s true. Then why continue the book if I seemed to hate it that much? But as I said, I didn’t hate it but the plot was not something I enjoyed. I continued reading because the author’s writing was amazing. I’m actually in a state of awe over how much I loved the writing. It’s been a while since an author’s work was able to pull me in like that and I felt that it [the story] deserved to be finished. Forgetting that this book-novella actually- was only 90 pages, it was a very quick read.

I’ve come to realise whilst reading this novella that I do not like androids. I seem to have developed a deep dislike for them and probably won’t be picking up another book that features them ever again. My reasons for the low rating (even though I keep saying that you should still read this book) is because 1. I don’t like androids 2. I didn’t like the actual story (it wasn’t bad, I just didn’t like it) and 3. the time jumps annoyed me. We kept having flashbacks, then jumping to the future and I started wondering what really was. I wasn’t confused by this per se, but I would’ve appreciated if the story was told in chronological order. I will admit that it added a bit of dramatic flare and called for a need of extra thought to be put in the reading…it also appealed to my like on unpredictability but my opinion remains what it is.

So while I didn’t like this book, I know there are others out there who’ll fall in love with it. If not the story itself, then definitely the writing. This is my personal recommendation to whomever would wish to read it.

Yes, I know that this review was basically me contradicting myself the entire time but my brain is still in shambles over this dang book.

Read: 13 March 2017
Rating: ★★

Publication Date: 2014
Publisher: Mythography Studios
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: George Saoulidis

*Note: My review for this book is long overdue and I apologize for taking so long to get to it.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

2 thoughts on “eARC Book Review: Crying Over Spilt Light by George Saoulidis

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings #8 | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up: March 2017 (and April TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

