Book Review: Take Two by Meg Cabot

Take Two (The Princess Diaries, #2)

Goodreads Synopsis

‘Seriously, Lily,’ I said, ‘I have to guard diligently against falling in love with somebody like your brother, because in the end I might have to marry Prince William.’

Not that that would be such a great sacrifice.

Nothing’s simple when you’re the new Princess of Genovia. At least, that’s what Mia reckons.

With her mother dating her Algebra teacher, a secret admirer sending her mysterious e-mails, ad a bad case of the hots for her friend Lilly’s brother Michael, Mia’s discovering that life as Princess Amelia Mignonette Grimaldi Thermopolis Renaldo can feel like a right-royal muddle!


My love for this series is growing more and more. I honestly can’t believe how reluctant I was to start this series in the first place and look at us now. I’ve been having Princess Diaries withdrawals so I re-watched the movie. See my review for the first book here.

So this book takes place about a month since the first book so we haven’t missed out on much. I think I prefer the tiny time gap because we’re still learning with Mia as she goes along.

I loved Mia in this book. Comparing it to book one, it’s obvious to tell the differences. For one, Mia’s narrating style has changed so those princess lessons are working. The way she holds herself is more graceful but we’ve still got to work on that courage. Speak up for yourself Mia darling, and stop being such a pushover. But there’s still time so I’ll be keeping my eye out for more character development.

Lily…ah, Lily. I’m not a fan of her because I feel that she turns into this monster when she doesn’t get her way. Miss Gupta, thanks for pointing out that she’s a negative influence on Mia!

As an outsider looking in, it’s so easy to notice the things that Mia doesn’t even though she herself are writing them. Not very observant, that one. One thing I do like about this is that Mia is a normal teenager with normal teenager issues. Sure, she’s the heir to the throne of Genovia but she still has to battle to keep her grades up and deal with popularity at school and bossy friends and crushes etc.

This is a series that I’ll never tire of reading. Bring on Third Time Lucky!

Read: 9 February 2017
Rating: ★★★.5

Publication Date: 1 June 2001
Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Meg Cabot

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Take Two by Meg Cabot

  1. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#6) | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up: February 2017 (and March TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

  3. Pingback: Book Review: Third Time Lucky by Meg Cabot | Diminishing Thoughts

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Mia Goes Fourth by Meg Cabot | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

