A Series of Unfortunate Events on Netflix

Image result for a series of unfortunate events

So the first season of A Series of Unfortunate Events was released on Netflix on the 13th of January and I was one of the many who flocked to the screen to bask in the glory that is this amazingly messed up show. You have been warned.

I read The Bad Beginning, The Reptile Room, The Wide Window and The Miserable between 2015 and 2016 so the memory of the stories are fresh in my mind. I didn’t want to be that person but at the same time if there were any major changes made, I couldn’t stop myself from noticing.

From the announcement of the series, to the cast list to the promo pics, I was at the edge of my seat waiting for 2017 to come so that I could finally feast my eyes on this gloriousness…oh and what gloriousness it was!

Related image

When I found out that Neil Patrick Harris was cast to play the villainous Count Olaf I squinted a bit because how? But then I remembered that he’s Neil Patrick Harris and he can do basically anything.

The casting was perfect! I loved all the characters and how well they compared to the books but at the same time a little bit of something new they added to the show. From Count Olaf’s theatrics troop to Uncle Monty to Aunt Josephine to Sir over at the Lumber Mill, everyone brought to life the characters I grew to love and fear and some despised.

I watched the movie many times growing up, and while I know now that it doesn’t even come close to explaining the Baudelaire children’s lives, it’s because of that movie that I even became interested in the books.

I loved everything this series had to offer (talk about smashing through the 4th wall) and even though it was only based on the first 4 books out of the 13, 8 episodes were released so that’s 8 hours to keep me wonderfully occupied. This is a show that I’d gladly watch over and over again.

My excitement is still way through the roof so I can’t put what I feel into eloquent words. My advice? Watch the show. You won’t regret it. Ignore all the road signs and proceed full speed ahead.

Caron xx 

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Source: Pics taken from Google Images

Leave a Reply

