eARC Book Review: How to Mend A Broken Heart by Anna Mansell

How to Mend a Broken Heart

Goodreads Synopsis

A compelling, heartbreaking tale that will make you laugh, cry and believe in the kindness of strangers. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson.

Life is good for nurse Kat. That is until the man she intended to marry legs it, she’s unexpectedly promoted to a position with too much responsibility, and a patient arrives on her ward under strange circumstances.

Susan is a mystery. She refuses to speak or interact with anyone, she’s obsessed with a book of fairy tales, and the only name in her diary is that of Rhys – a plumber she barely knows.

Down-to-earth Rhys is trying to get his life back on track after the death of his beloved brother. His mum is his priority, and she needs him as much as he needs her. Or at least she did, until she starts disappearing, leaving him to find comfort in the form of his brother’s girlfriend.

Complicated is an understatement.

As the lives of these three lost strangers intertwine, will they find a way to lay ghosts past, present and future to rest? And when the chance comes to mend their broken hearts, will they be brave enough to take it?


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

How to Mend a Broken Heart is a story that revolves around three people and how their lives are interwoven whether they see it or not. I felt that this story tells us that even a person who is a complete stranger can have an impact on your life. Not always for the better, but not necessarily for the worst either.

“We can store a memory away, but it never truly dies. We can ignore its existence, we can hide from the emotions it provokes, but it will return when the soil of life is overturned.”

We start out the story with Kat. I rather liked her even if she wasn’t my favourite in the book. I felt that with her, the most work had to be done in that she was the character who I would look to see if any development occurred. Kat worked as a nurse in a hospital and for a while she is placed with the responsibility of acting Ward Sister. With her boyfriend dumping her after 5 years together, then getting an almost promotion at work, she already has a lot on her plate, but of course the universe has to throw in a complicated patient that nobody can get through to.

Susan started out as a mystery. I assumed the prologue was from her point of view. It was quite confusing and I wasn’t sure what was happening but I went with the flow and curiosity got the better of me. Susan herself doesn’t have many POV’s in the book but what we do get, gives that little bit of suspense and keeps us asking questions.

Rhys: this character was my favourite of the book. He made me want to reach in and hug him or something. From the beginning of the book it was made clear that he was upset and we knew why but the problem was…we didn’t know how to make him feel better and I think that made his story all the more sad.

None of these three characters individually are the main character because all of them collectively make up the main part of the story. As the story goes on we find out how and why they, in particular, are tied together by the fates or whoever it may be.

“-Why do we hide from the things that might make us?
-Because they can just as easily break us.”

This book was described as being heart wrenching but I didn’t feel that my heartstrings were being pulled at. My friend says it’s because I don’t have a heart but I think it’s because I didn’t go in with all my emotions and feelings laid bare.

I did like what the story offered and after the initial confusing part, I got pretty into it. Once you let yourself go, the book is a pretty quick read. The book got a bit predictable near the middle to the end bit but that was okay because it didn’t take anything away from the story as a whole. I loved the writing and the author’s talent of drawing one in. I’ll definitely be keeping a lookout for more of her work.

Read: 30 January 2017
Rating: ★★★

Publication Date: 1 March 2017
Publisher: Bookouture
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Anna Mansell

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “eARC Book Review: How to Mend A Broken Heart by Anna Mansell

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: January 2017 (and February TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: My Week and Happenings (#4) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s