Book Review: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson & Robin Wasserman

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

Goodreads Synopsis

Ten illustrated stories following the adventures of Simon Lewis, star of the #1 New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments, as he trains to become a Shadowhunter. Simon has been a human and a vampire, but after the events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, he isn’t sure who he is anymore. When the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. Whomever this Simon might be…Join him on his journey to become a Shadowhunter, and learn about the Academy’s illustrious history along the way, through guest lecturers such as Jace Herondale, Tessa Gray, and Magnus Bane. The series features characters from Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments, Infernal Devices, Dark Artifices and the upcoming Last Hours series.


  • Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy

This was a great start to the book. I loved the writing and found it extremely humorous. I love George! He’s amazing. Where can I find one? This first story, even with Simon being slightly out of character because of his missing memories made my love for him greater.

Rating: ★★★★★

  • The Lost Herondale

I felt that this story focused more on feelings than on the plot or what was going on around them. I did enjoy the little history lesson though and the proof that there are two sides to every story.

Sidenote: More Herondales in the world? Yes please.

Rating: ★★★

  • The Whitechapel Fiend

I enjoyed this one a lot more that I did The Lost Herondale. I loved being reunited with the characters from The Infernal Devices. I feel as if this book is another version of The Shadowhunter’s Codex. Learning about Shadowhunters through a mundanes eyes. Yay to history?

Rating: ★★★★

  • Nothing But Shadows

At this point I was starting to get annoyed by all the flashbacks but this one in particular was pretty amazing. It just made me even more eager to read The Last Hours. I can’t wait anymore.

Matthew and James do remind me a lot of Jace and Alec and how opposites attract.

Rating: ★★★★

  • The Evil We Love

I liked how this flashback was told. It was a bit of a surprise to see Robert Lightwood show up. Guess that [flashback story] was a sneak peak into what the books on the Circle are going to be like.

Rating: ★★★

  • Pale Kings and Princes

Helen’s story is just heartbreaking and I can’t help but to side with Simon on this one. The last bit of this story though…wow! To be able to see the faerie’s side of the story was just so amazing. I don’t know what to believe anymore.

Rating: ★★★

  • Bitter of Tongue

I liked that we got to see the other side for a moment, into Faerie and The Wild Hunt. And that we got a tiny glimpse of The Dark Artifices. Mark wasn’t even the main event for this book but it really makes you yearn and ache for him.

I noticed the change in Simon’s character almost immediately and it threw me off a bit.

Rating: ★★★.5

  • The Fiery Trail

I loved this story! Taking us through what a parabatai ceremony looks like was awesome. Just when you think you can’t learn anymore, more information pops up.

Rating: ★★★★.5

  • Born to Endless Night

This was the cutest story ever! I loved how this one specifically focused on family and good people actually making a change in a world so set in their old ways.

Also, who can deny Malec moments. Love me some Malec.

Rating: ★★★★★

  • Angels Twice Descending

This was beautiful! I loved how once again, this story was a close but at the same time it left a bit as an opening for the next story to be told. Glad we got to see what Ascension looks like. A bittersweet ending. Still kind of in denial about George’s death but we’ll not think about that. He’s alive in my heart.

Rating: ★★★★★


This book is so worth the wait. I actually laughed out loud a few times and even though I was alone, I had to make sure that no one was looking at me as if I’d lost my mind. Simon Lewis, now Loveless, is my ultimate favourite character in the TMI series so naturally I jumped at the opportunity to read a book that was all about him.

I loved the nerdy references and how Izzy would dish out knowledge about Star Wars and let’s not talk about the nod to the fans. The word Malec was actually mentioned in this book. I want to read this book again, I loved it that much.

Read: 10 January 2017
Overall Rating: ★★★★.5

Publication Date: 15 November 2016
Publisher: McElderry Books
Link to the Authors Goodreads Pages: Cassandra Clare | Sarah Rees Brennan | Maureen Johnson | Robin Wasserman

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

One thought on “Book Review: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson & Robin Wasserman

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: January 2017 (and February TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

