Random Story Time: Authors Expanding Their Series

*This is an edited version of a post I posted to My Trending Stories.

I mentioned in my Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review that I had a bone or two to pick with this book and some others and I’ve decided to address them.


  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne & John Tiffany

So the world rejoiced when J.K. Rowling announced that the Harry Potter series was getting an 8th book. A glorious day for all Potterheads out there…or so you’d think. From the second the announcement was made, discussions were being made, arguments arose and well, everyone had an opinion. I myself found out about the book through Pottermore and I was honestly excited. Of course, many peoples’ excitement vanished once they found out that it was in fact a script of a play and not a novel. I didn’t mind, and I still don’t mind. I loved the book and I enjoyed it very much.

Bones ‘a picking… Yes well, it seems that quite a few people have a problem with this book and I won’t say that ‘they’re wrong’ or ‘how could they say that?’ because it’s not my place to judge and everyone’s entitled to their own opinion. If they didn’t like the book, that’s their thing. My issue is that I saw the process from the announcement to the publication of this book and I read comments, discussions, heard people state their opinion and what I gathered was not something I was overly impressed by. It saddened me really to know that something that made so many people happy was surrounded by so much negativity (it’s like Stephenie Meyer’s Life and Death all over again but let’s not get into that).

I didn’t see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child as a continuation of the Harry Potter series. It was a continuation of the Wizarding World (much like how Fantastic Beasts is a prequel of sorts to the Wizarding World we have grown to love)  and it’s my opinion that Harry Potter as a character had almost nothing to do with this book. To me, his name was on the cover as part of publicity and if that’s the case…then it’s cool. It got people interested. It got me interested and I fell in love with it.

The book will not read like a novel, because it is not one. It will not have any ‘world building’ because it’s a stage production and this is a script being read. The magic is supposed to be happening before our eyes, acted out and I for one am grateful that I was even given a chance to read the script as I probably won’t ever see the play.

See my review for The Cursed Child here.

  • Rick Riordan’s Novels on Mythology

Rick Riordan is an amazing writer and he could write a shopping list on toilet paper and I’d treat it like gold. For someone who didn’t want to read the Percy Jackson series at first, I have fallen madly in love with the characters and the universe itself. I’ve always been a big fan of any kind of mythology and one day when I have time I’ll sit down and go through all the books and theories.

The fact that Rick has different series that connect with each other and the Magnus Chase series kind of but not really mixing Greek/Roman Mythology and Norse Mythology. I find that so awesome. Don’t get me started on The Trials of Apollo. If you’ve met him in the Percy Jackson and HoO series’ you’d know you’d know that turning him mortal is like the biggest wtf to happen to him.

Rick’s interconnecting series is something I don’t mind because I love his writing so much and the way he makes you feel like you’re part of the story is something that I appreciate. Go ahead and continue writing! There’s always a willing reader.

  • The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

Not too long ago, Cassandra Clare announced that she and Wesley Chu are writing a Magnus Bane Adult Trilogy and I was one of the people who squealed like a fangirl gone mad.

The Mortal Instruments is by far my favourite series and I want to live in that world and be everything…okay, most things: a Shadowhunter, a vampire, a warlock..and actual angel. If you’ve checked out Cassie Clare’s website then you know that she planned to write five series within the Shadowhunter Chronicles. I’ve already planned shelf space for these unpublished, unwritten books.

So far we have (That we know of):

  • The Mortal Instruments
  • The Infernal Devices
  • The Bane Chronicles
  • Tales from Shadowhunter Academy
  • Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices)
  • The Last Hours
  • The Magnus Bane Adult Trilogy.

Since the two companion novels- The Bane Chronicles and Tales from Shadowhunter Academy don’t really count, by my calculations we’re at five series. I’m honestly hoping that the Magnus Bane books were just an added bonus.

Since Cassie Clare is definitely one of my favourite authors, I don’t mind her continuing her works in this world- duh! I’ve enjoyed everything she- and her co-writers- have written so far and I’ll always be willing to read more.

  • ACOTAR and Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Okay, so a few weeks ago the the internet (Twitter and Goodreads mainly) blew up with the news that Sarah J. Maas was expanding the A Court of Thorns and Roses series. It was originally supposed to be a trilogy but is now going to be a full series.

Two books, A Court of Thorns and Roses as well as A Court of Mist and Fury are already published and the third book is set to be released mid-2017.

I have only recently read ACOTAR but I’ve read the first three books as well as the companion of Throne of Glass and I greatly enjoyed it but I loved ACOTAR so much more. That was to be expected as The Beauty and the Beast is my favourite fairytale.

It was a bit of a shock that 5 books were added to what was originally going to be a trilogy. Am I mad though? Nope, no, definitely not. I am beyond excited because with just one book I’ve grown to love the characters and the world.

Throne of Glass is already 4 books into its series along with a companion novel and the 5th book is coming out in September of this very year. I have no qualms about this because I like that series a lot- maybe not as much as ACOTAR but that’s neither here nor there.

It was announced that TOG will also be getting an expansion to the series, moving from 3 to 6 to 8 books in total. It’s announcements and times like these that I admire authors. They could stop, but will they? No, probably not.

My point to this whole post is that second last sentence in the last line. Emphasis on the ‘They could stop’ part. They could, yes. But that’s not our choice to make. A writer writes because it’s what they want to do and what they love. I think writing is a process that shouldn’t be fiddled with. ‘Let the chips fall where they may’. The writer of a work will know when it’s done. It’s their masterpiece in the making and I think they should be left to figure out when it’s time to put down the pencil.

That was my two cents on the whole expanding of series thing. Thanks for stopping by.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Wattpad

Leave a Reply

