eARC Book Review: Wrecked by Maria Padian

WreckedGoodreads Synopsis

Everyone has heard a different version of what happened that night at MacCallum College. Haley was already in bed when her roommate, Jenny, arrived home shell-shocked from the wild Conundrum House party. Richard heard his housemate Jordan brag about the cute freshman he hooked up with. When Jenny formally accuses Jordan of rape, Haley and Richard find themselves pushed onto opposite sides of the school’s investigation. But conflicting interests fueling conflicting versions of the story may make bringing the truth to light nearly impossible–especially when reputations, relationships, and whole futures are riding on the verdict


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Wrecked focuses on rape and the culture that surrounds it. There’s a lot that a person can say regarding this topic and it’s easy to jump to conclusions because in this case all anyone wants is justice and closure and more often than not, that is not delivered. In this book it’s ripped open and revealed for what could possibly be how it really is but I can’t say because I’ve never been in a situation like that and I think it’ll be like a slap in the face to say ‘I can count myself lucky’ because honestly, I think luck has nothing to do with it. Rape is not about who’s lucky enough to avoid it, because it’s not something that has to be avoided. People are a-holes and it’s people who do the bad deeds.

When people start blaming the victim, it reminds me of a popular saying ‘A good carpenter never blames his tools’ or something like that. A person shouldn’t blame the victim because of what they looked like, how they dressed or acted or even what they implied. A person can say ‘yes’ one minute and halfway through decide to change their mind. It doesn’t make them a tease, it makes them a person with the right to say no.

*I know I went off on a tangent there but I hardly find myself in a situation where I talk about this topic and I found myself with a lot to say.

This book really put things in perspective and I think what takes place in this book is real. Not that it’s a true story- someone might have experienced something a lot like this, I wouldn’t know- but this is realistic and I think that’s what scared me. I got actual chills while reading this book and I’ll be honest, the way this is written, how it’s from the POV of the roommate of the victim and also of the housemate of the accused, the story get’s mixed up quite a few times and I didn’t even know where I stood.

It’s honesty hour over here. My first instinct was to side with the victim and that was all well and good, I expected that even. But as the story unfolded I was so confused with my thoughts because I was put in that place that I’ve read some victims fear: I didn’t know whether I believed her story or not. See what I mean? I was scared because I knew where I had to stand but there was a part of me that kept screaming: ‘You don’t know the full story. Don’t jump to conclusion!’ This book was a real eye opener and I am so glad that the author didn’t sugarcoat anything.

Characters: Haley is the roommate of Jenny, who reports that she was raped on the night a party. She- Haley- has her own problems to deal with and she prefers dealing with them but she gets sucked into Jenny’s situation and at first she acts like she doesn’t have a choice. Who’d turn someone away when they’re clearly in the need of help? Haley does decide to actually stay not because she was coerced, but because she wants to. I think her main goal was to be as uninvolved as possible but that didn’t work out so well. She sleeps in the same room as the girl, for crying out loud.

Richard lived in the same house as Jordan, the accused, and I didn’t know what to make of this guy at first. He seemed weird and we were introduced to him with a bad start. Rape jokes are not cool. They shouldn’t made. Ever. Richard was creepy and bordered on being a stalker but I think his mind was a bit jumbled. This guy was bad with words so people disregarded him often.

Carrie was, well I didn’t like her much. She had her views and sure I respect her for that but I felt that she came on a bit strong and seemed forceful sometimes.

Jenny’s case, her life in general wasn’t an easy thing to deal with. I mean, the one time she decided to step out of her comfort zone, everything just gets flipped upside down. What I did admire about her was her constant vigilance. Not about the rape, about how she went about life. She didn’t back down and I liked that about her. She was in no way running away but she had a plan and continued going on.

Jordan was a d*ck really. Not for what he did/was accused of doing, but in general. He wasn’t a nice guy. He had absolutely no redeeming qualities.

Likes: I like the fact that this book exists. It’s needed especially with what’s going on in the world. I loved the writing style. This author has a way with words and I found myself drawn in with how well it was written. I liked how the author went about the plot. Giving both sides of the story but at the same time allowing the readers to make up their own mind about what went down.

Overall Thoughts: This was an important book that needed to be shared with the world. The pace was excellent and I think the author did a good job especially given the situation. I would definitely read other works by this author.

Read: 4 July 2016
Rating: ★★★★

Publication Date: 4 October 2016
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Maria Padian

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply

