Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorn & John Tiffany

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)

Goodreads Synopsis

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.


*First read: 31 July 2016 and rated 5 stars

Initial mini-review on Goodreads:

What a whirlwind of emotions I’m feeling right now. I’m still in that story and I think I will forever be that way. Thank you J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany for this book. I’m on a rollercoaster that’s never going to stop and I don’t mind for one second.

***

So first off, I want to start by saying that I didn’t know what to expect when I went into this book but that doesn’t mean I went in without expectations. I knew this was a script of a play so I wasn’t hoping for much in regards to a novel, as this is not one. My main aim was to experience the Wizarding World once again irregardless on whether Harry Potter was the main character or not. That being said, I think it’s best to not think of this as a ‘continuation of Harry Potter’ but more as a ‘continuation of what happened after‘. I enjoyed the book either way though.

I do have a bone or two to pick with this book (and others) but I’ll outline that in a separate post so keep a look out for that.

I was super excited to read this book and when I finally got it, it was probably the happiest day of my life for this year. Fangirl dream come true. I finished it in under two hours the first time and I was so amazed, it took me some time to come back to terms on what was real and what wasn’t.

This review is a mix of how I felt both the first and second time I read it and how my opinion of the book may have changed.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child picks up right where Deathly Hallows ended and this to me was so awesome because it was as if we just stepped away for a minute. It was like a version of ‘I open at the close‘. I found this incredibly amazing. There were a few changes that I noticed from the very beginning and some irked me, some didn’t but it didn’t take away from the book as a whole.

There were definitely some changes in character that made some seem a bit…not as themselves but this too I was able to ignore because it had been 19 years and people change. The new characters that were added were a joy and I was vastly impressed with how easily I fell in love with them.

Their wasn’t much in terms of world building because we have 7 other books to tell us what the Wizarding World is and stands for. In regards to the plot, I liked it. It was definitely not something I expected and I think that was the shocker for me because there was the predictable undertone to all the Harry Potter books and I guess I expected this to go a different direction than those.

I rated this 5 stars the first time but I think I’ll rate it 4.5 this time. Reading it twice in one week made it easy for me to see what I missed the first time and I felt that I didn’t want to rate it a solid 5 like I did before.

I don’t see this as a continuation of Harry Potter’s story per say but it was a great read all the same. I do think that this is the last I’d read of a new Harry Potter book though as I believe any other questions can be asked to J.K. Rowling herself since this book did answer a lot of questions.

**Do you know hard it is to review a book that you can’t really talk about? #keepthesecrets

Read: 8 August 2016
Rating: ★★★★.5

Publication Date: 31 July 2016
Publisher: Little Brown UK
Links to Authors Goodreads Pages: J.K. Rowling | John Tiffany | Jack Thorne

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | My Trending Stories | Wattpad

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorn & John Tiffany

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: August 2016 (and September TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Random Story Time: Authors Expanding Their Series | Diminishing Thoughts

  3. Pingback: 2016 Book Haul (Part 2) | Diminishing Thoughts

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Favourite Reads of 2016 | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

