Movie/TV Show vs Book (#14): A Walk to Remember

The Book

A Walk to Remember

A Walk to Remember is a novel by American writer Nicholas Sparks, released in October 1999. The novel, set in 1958-’59 in Beaufort, North Carolina, is a story of two teenagers who fall in love with each other despite the disparity of their personalities.

Source: Wikipedia

I remember reading the book back in high school while on the school bus and a girl saw me and asked if I planned to watch the movie. I didn’t know there was a movie for this book back then so I was even more excited to finish the book. I loved the book so much and I might’ve cried. I’ve only ever read the book that one time but the story sticks with you. And it was only after that that I found out almost all of Nicholas Sparks leave you feeling like you lost your heart.

The Movie

Source: Image taken from Google Images

A Walk to Remember is a 2002 American coming-of-age romantic drama film directed by Adam Shankman and written by Karen Janszen, based onNicholas Sparks‘ 1999 novel of the same name.

Source: Wikipedia

Luck was on my side that week because that weekend, the movie came on TV. I sat down and watched it with the book still fresh in my mind. (I was still naive then so I didn’t know yet that the book and the movie are never the same- what innocence) I did notice a few changes but I didn’t mind them at all and I think that it was a job well done. Mandy Moore’s voice people! I love it. I’ve always loved seeing the characters from books ‘come to life’ in a sense on the screen and I may have watched the movie more times than I can count. It never fails to make me cry. Some people have their Titanic, I have this.

The Decision

This is a tough one for me because I enjoyed both the book and the movie. I’ll ‘cheat’ in a way and say that I choose both. This is a book I’ll gladly re-read (I was planning to anyway) and a movie I’ll never get tired of watching. Because they are both great pieces, I won’t count this as a cop out.

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply

