Book Review: DC Universe Rebirth #1 by Geoff Johns

DC Universe: Rebirth (2016) #1 (DC Universe: Rebirth (2016-))

Goodreads Synopsis

It all begins here. Do not skip to the last page. Do not let a friend or message board ruin this comic for you. The future (and past) of the DC Universe starts here. Don’t say we didn’t warn you!

THEY SAID IT: “Rebirth is about focusing in on the core of the character and their respective universe,” says writer and DC Entertainment Chief Creative Officer Geoff Johns. “It brings back what has been lost: the legacy of the characters, the love and the hope of the DCU!”


This starts out with Batman getting a visit from someone who looks a lot like The Flash- Barry- but reveals himself to be Wally West previously known as Kid Flash. Bruce has no idea who Wally is and so Wally gets dragged back into the Speed Force.

As the story unfolds, we find out that when Barry went back in time to save his mom from the Reverse Flash (we saw this in the season 2 finale of The Flash) it created what they call The Flashpoint. Duh! You don’t mess with time. Paradoxes, paradoxes everywhere. Everything’s haywire and Wally seems to have been entirely forgotten.

Characters: I loved Wally’s narrative. He told the full story of what happened while at the same time letting us see what was currently going on. The anguish he feels is clear. He allows us to see what it feels like when the people you know, the people you care about have no idea who you are.

Likes: I had never read a ‘major’ DC comic before this one but I’m glad this was recommended to me and this is where I started. The way Geoff Johns tells the story makes it comfortable even for a new DC reader such as myself and I didn’t feel out of place, which was great. What was especially awesome was the fact this first issue was 80 pages. 80 pages for an issue?! Yes please! I thought it’d bother me since I was looking more for a tester into the DC universe but I didn’t mind at all.

Overall Thoughts: I read somewhere that this is supposed to be the new phase for DC, like how they had The New 52- I’ve seen reviews and not many people were that impressed by it- but the reviews for Rebirth are so positive and I totally agree. I only planned to read this comic and The Flash one but now I might see about reading them all. Start up that DC collection.

Great job on the writing. It really drew me in and I couldn’t stop reading. The art too was amazing! So detailed. We all know about the streak that appears when The Flash runs. It was captured perfectly. I can’t wait to get into this series more.

*Note: This was a totally unbiased review as I have stated more than once that I am a Marvel fan. I couldn’t say anything bad about this comic even if I wanted to. Got to give credit where credit is due.

Read: 10 July 2016
Rating: ★★★.5

Publication Date: 25 May 2016
Publisher: DC Comics
Writer: Geoff Johns
Illustrators: Gary Frank | Ethan Van Sciver | Phil Jimenez

Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Book Review: DC Universe Rebirth #1 by Geoff Johns

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Flash Rebirth #1 by Joshua Williamson | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up: July 2016 (and August TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

