Book Review: Fairest: Levana’s Story by Marissa Meyer

Fairest: Levana’s Story (The Lunar Chronicles, #3.5)Goodreads Synopsis

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.


Fairest: Levana’s Story is a novella within the Lunar Chronicles. It’s said to be the 3.5 book in the series, but I don’t think that forgoing it would have any major impact on the understanding of the rest of the story. It does give a better understanding of Levana and mostly explains why she is the way she is.

We all know Levana to be that evil queen in Cinder, Scarlet and Cress who is set on having Earth squished under Lunar’s thumb. I do not like her, which is kind of the point of the series, and I never want to.

In Fairest, Levana is a lot younger than when we first met her. At only 15, she’s basically still a child, yet old enough to rule (13 being the ruling age). I was hoping and praying that Marissa Meyer wouldn’t pulling a Maleficent using that manoeuvre you might remember from the Maleficent movie- where the bad guy is made out to be a good guy and we suddenly like them. I was genuinely afraid that I would start liking Levana without even realising it. I’m glad that was not the case.

Characters: Levana was insane and crazy and delusional. This was a shock to me because while I knew she was cruel and showed no mercy, I honestly didn’t peg her as batsh*t crazy. This woman was one of those scary types who might kill you if you disagree with her.

Channary was Levana’s sister as we know and we’d assume that she was ‘the nice one’ and no one could compare to Levana. Ha! Cruelty runs through this family, that is all I can say.

Cinder, Cress and Winter made appearances in this book- Cress we just hear about though- but it was nice to see deeper into their story before all hell broke loose.

Likes: The writing as always was amazing. Marissa Meyer has a way of really grabbing your attention and making you want more. I do like that we got to see why Levana turned out that way but it in no justified her actions. I don’t think there was any hope for her, she was just evil. I’m glad we got to see the truth behind Channary as well. While I hate Levana, she was still an amazingly written character.

Overall Thoughts: This highlighted so many things for me especially viewing it from Levana’s POV. I can’t wait to read both Winter and Stars Above. Marissa Meyer continues to make me so very happy.

Read: 5 June 2016
Rating: ★★★★

Publication Date: 27 January 2015
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

