The Book Sacrifice Tag

THE

I wasn’t actually tagged to do this but I saw Amanda’s over at My Books Opinion Site post and I just had to do it.

1. AN OVER-HYPED BOOK: 

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

Grasshopper Jungle

It took me quite a while to finish this book and I agree with the reviews that it’s a weird book but it was too weird, and that’s saying a lot because I pride myself on being weird. I couldn’t wait for this book to end and I’m surprised I didn’t DNF it.

2. A SEQUEL:

Situation: torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Never Fade (The Darkest Minds, #2)

I didn’t enjoy Never Fade and I skim read a lot of this book. I managed to make it through The Darkest Minds and I didn’t hate that one but this book made me abandon the trilogy altogether. I know there’s only one book left but I don’t want to read that book especially with how much I couldn’t stand this one.

3. A CLASSIC:

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

The Great Gatsby

I’d probably receive a lot of hate for this but the first 80% of The Great Gatsby was boring for me. People talk about how it’s such an amazing book and it’s of the few classics that I actually understand without needing summaries so I’m not saying I disliked it because I couldn’t understand. I just don’t see what’s so special about it.

4. A LEAST FAVORITE BOOK:

Situation: apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting? 

Paper Towns

I don’t mind John Green’s writing. I’ve read TFIOS 3 times already and my opinion hasn’t changed, I love that book but Paper Towns doesn’t come close. There are so many things that I can’t stand about this book that it makes me mad to think about. I never watched the movie, I don’t plan to ever watch it. I just can’t with this book.


Those are my choices and thoughts for this tag. I’m glad I did this tag. It’s always good to know what books are taking up unwanted space on my shelves.

I tag:

readinglust

The Paper Ship

Tiff the book nerd

Chelsea’s Book Blog

Of course, you don’t have to do this tag and apologies if you’ve already done it. 🙂

Thanks for reading

-Caron

Leave a Reply

