Movie/TV Show vs Book (#12): He’s Just Not That Into You

The Book

He's Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys

He’s Just Not That Into You is a self-improvement book written by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo that was published in 2004 and later adapted into a film by the same name in 2009. It was a New York Times bestseller and was featured on The Oprah Winfrey Show.

Source: Wikipedia

I remember reading this book after I had gone through what seemed like a horrible break-up at the time and even though I didn’t want to turn to a self-help book (my 16 year old self scoffed at these books) I read it anyway. Let me tell you, I loved this book. I only ever needed to read it that one time but it did its job. I realised after reading this that all I needed was for someone to tell me that I was fine as I was, I didn’t need to change and that there was nothing wrong with me. If a person doesn’t like you for who you are, they can exit through the same door they came in.

The Movie

Source: Image taken from Google Images

He’s Just Not That Into You is a 2009 American romantic comedy-drama film directed by Ken Kwapis, based on the self-help book of the same name by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo, which in turn was inspired by a line of dialogue in Sex and the City

Source: Wikipedia

I watched this movie with my brother and we came out of it with scrunched up faces. It’s not to say that I personally didn’t like the movie, I’m not a major fan of chick flicks, and I didn’t think this movie was going to be one of those. After leaving the cinema that night I knew that was a one-time-never-to-be-re-watched movie and as far as I can remember, I haven’t watched it again. It was cute, but it didn’t grasp me like the book did.

The Decision

I think it’s clear about what my decision will be. I choose the book. As I said, I don’t generally read self-help books (it’s more for entertainment for me) but this was a desperate attempt of a teenager who wanted to know her self-worth and my perception of this book changed me. I then knew not to jump in with both feet. The movie wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

