Book Review: The Powerpuff Girls Super Smash-Up #1 by Derek Charm

Powerpuff Girls Super Smash-Up #1Goodreads Synopsis

Just when you thought you’d seen it all, Cartoon Network Crossover Craziness continues! After their victory in the Super Secret Crisis War, the Powerpuff Girls take it easy with a rare VIP tour of Dexter’s Laboratory! But when tag-along Dee Dee accidentally activates Dexter’s newest invention, the fate of the entire multiverse is suddenly at stake! Plus: a bonus Courage the Cowardly Dog story by the Glyph- and Eisner-nominated Princeless’s Jeremy Whitley!


There have been a series of crossovers and this comic is just one of them.

In this, The Powerpuff Girls and Professor Utonium meet with Dexter from Dexter’s Laboratory and agree to have a tour of this amazing lab. Of course when the infamous Chemical X, different dimensions and Dee Dee are involved, things are obviously bound to go horribly south.

Characters: I loved seeing Buttercup, Blossom and Bubbles again. It’s been so long since I watched the TV Show and reading it in a comic book setting really brings something different to the table. Buttercup is and always will be my spirit animal.

Professor Utonium will never change. I love it. His excitement to see the lab was off the charts.

Dexter: I legit looked up to this crazy kid when I was younger. Such brains, such talent.

Dee Dee: Does anything even need to be said?

Likes: I like the idea for crossovers and that we got a glimpse of other dimensions as well. I see you Cow and Chicken. I got that feel of watching the show on TV and that’s good because that meant everyone was in character.

Dislikes: I can’t think of any.

Overall Thoughts: It was nice going back to my childhood. Amazing writing as well as artwork. I might complete this series after all…I wasn’t sure at first.

Read: 24 May 2016
Rating: ★★★★

Publication Date: 28 January 2015
Publisher: IDW Publishing
Writers: Derek Charm | Jeremy Whitley
Illustrator: Jorge Monlongo

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Powerpuff Girls Super Smash-Up #1 by Derek Charm

  1. Wow! Sounds like something my daughter and I might have to share reading. Is it a comic book or a book written in comic book fashion? I might have to bundle this in with a few more reasons on why the Fairy Bookmother sent me to Barnes and Noble again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a comic book. I really hope you enjoy it. If I had to compare this to the TV show I’d say that there’s no difference. I hope you enjoy it if you do decide to read it.

      Thank you for commenting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

