Book vs Movie/TV Show: The Shadowhunter Chronicles

The Books

The Mortal Instruments is a series of six young adult fantasy novels written by Cassandra Clare, the last of which was published May 27, 2014. The Mortal Instruments is chronologically the third series of a proposed five in The Shadowhunter Chronicles but it was the first one published.

Source: Wikipedia

The Mortal Instruments is my favourite series, this is no secret and I loved every single one of these books. Cassandra brought something new to the table for me and with every page I turned, every book I picked up, I was quickly falling in love. I feel like starting this entire series over and just sitting somewhere and reading till I can’t anymore. This would be the series I’d take with me if I were ever on a deserted island.

The Movie/TV Show

 The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones is a 2013 Canadian-German actionadventure science fantasy film based on the first book of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. The story takes place in an urban and contemporary New York City.

Source: Wikipedia

Ah, this movie though. I’ll say that if it’s directly compared to the books, it was a flop. Don’t get me wrong, on it’s own, it was a great movie but the thing with books-to-movie adaptations is that you have to stick to the story. The movie was basically a spoiler for anyone who wanted to read the books afterwards. I’ll admit that I watched the movie first as to get a feel of what it was all about but reading the books, I could definitely see what the complaints were about.

Shadowhunters is an American fantasy television series based on The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare, and developed for television by Ed Decter.

Source: Wikipedia

Shadowhunters is a great and amazing TV show. I’ll say that first. I’ll be honest and admit that I didn’t like it in the beginning. They changed a few things and introduced people who I’d never heard of before- I see you Lydhia- but I see now that that was all part of a bigger plan because MALEC!

Once I’m all caught up on my current shows, I’m going to re-watch Shadowhunters and squeal like the delighted fangirl I am. I’ll talk more about Shadowhunters as a whole in a different post. Obviously, I’m excited.

Source: All images taken from Google Images

The Decision

Even with my love for the TV show, it will never come close to what I feel for the books. I’m not even going to put the movie in the running. I choose the books, now and forever and always.

2 thoughts on “Book vs Movie/TV Show: The Shadowhunter Chronicles

Leave a Reply

