Expected Releases for June 2016

7 June

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)

This Savage Song – Victoria Schwab

This sounds like a book that I’d love. I’ve never read a V.E. Schwab novel but monsters? Soul-sucking Sunai? What even is a Sunai? I see betayal…lovely, fiery betrayal. This has gotten a fairly good audience so far and I can’t wait till I too have my hands on this. And this edition’s cover though! Just look at it!

***

14 June

The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library #1)The Invisible Library – Genevieve Cogman

I found out about this book a couple of months ago when I talked about the second book in an Expected Releases post. The Invisible Library is being republished under Berkley Publishing Group. The name alone made me curious and once I found out that a library is actually involved a library and spies I needed this in my life.


Harry Potter: The Artifact VaultHarry Potter: The Artifact Vault – Jody Revenson

This book has some text and never-before-seen art, photography, etc from  the Warner bros. archive.

Anything Harry Potter is acceptable in my book and I for one am looking forward to getting my hands on this piece. Look at that cover though! Isn’t it just gorgeous?

***

15 June

Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale

Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale – David Kudler

This is set in Japan in the 1400s and it’s a bit tough to look at it from a 2016 view point. I hope by the time this post goes up I’d have finished this book. It’s a bit slow but it’s going somewhere…I think

The cover is amazing though and the synopsis sound interesting enough.


No Place Like Somewhere ElseNo Place Like Somewhere Else – Caesar J.M. Kauftheil

I read this and I loved it! Review coming soon. This book is just what the synopsis says and the title fits so well!  This is a book I’d gladly re-read. It was exciting, amazing and beautiful. This girl run away from all her emotions but sometimes…just maybe one time, isn’t running the best option there is?

***

21 June

Full ShareFull Share – Eliza Freed

I feel like this book is about simply…living. This girl’s life has been complicated, as most of ours are and she just wants to be left alone. She rents a place on the beach and there discovers that there’s no place to hide. I liked what the synopsis said and requested this book on a whim. I can’t wait to start it.


Casto (Gods of War, #1)

Casto – Xenia Melzer

I won’t lie…this cover drew me in the first time I saw it. It’s a rock, that’s on fire. Blue fire! Demigods, Warlods. Love and war together…I feel like I was meant to read this book. And the fact that it’s LGBT too! I’ve never read a book like this before so I’m incredibly excited to start it hopefully in the next week.

***

28 June

And I DarkenAnd I Darken – Kerstin White

Badass Princess. Check. Historical Fiction, Fantasy and Retelling combined. Check.

I’m actually looking forward to reading this book. I thought this would be my first Kiersten White read but I forgot that she wrote a short story in My True Love Gave to Me. Still, I can’t wait to get started.


Hogwarts ClassicsHogwarts Classics – J.K. Rowling

This is much like the Hogwarts Library except that this only consists of Quidditch Through the Ages and The Tales of Beedle the Bard.

I was wondering why this was being republished because we already have the Hogwarts library but after some research I found out that 20% of the retail price is going to two charities of J.K. Rowling’s choosing. Tt’s for a good course and the new edition is simply gorgeous. Either way, it’s a win-win.


Magic Bitter, Magic SweetMagic Bitter, Magic Sweet – Charlie N. Holmberg

The first line in the synopsis made my eyes lit up with joy. Maire, a baker as the ability of infusing her treats with emotions. How cool is that? She is captured and demanded to make sinister sweets- who would have thought- and she is visited by this mysterious person. I genuinely hope I’m in for a wild ride as the synopsis suggests.

Leave a Reply

