Book Review: Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame

25883610Goodreads Synopsis

Love is everything but expected.

Eden Monro came to California for a summer of sun, sand and celebrities – what better way to forget about the drama back home? Until she meets her new family of strangers: a dad she hasn’t seen in three years, a stepmonster and three stepbrothers.

Eden gets her own room in her dad’s fancy house in Santa Monica. A room right next door to her oldest stepbrother, Tyler Bruce. Whom she cannot stand. He’s got angry green eyes and ego bigger than a Beverly Hills mansion. She’s never felt such intense dislike for someone. But the two are constantly thrown together as his group of friends pull her into their world of rule-breaking, partying and pier-hanging.

And the more she tries to understand what makes Tyler burn hotter than the California sun, the more Eden finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn’t…

Did I Mention I Love You? is the addictive first book in Wattpad sensation Estelle Maskame’s DIMILY trilogy: three unforgettable summers of secrets, heartbreak and forbidden romance.


Eden Munro decides to spend the summer with her dad after not seeing nor hearing from him in three years. She expects to keep to herself but when meeting her dad’s new family, she is welcomed with open arms- how can you be mean to nice people right?- except Tyler hates her at first sight and the feeling’s mutual.

Eden soon realises that she’s falling hard for her stepbrother, Tyler, and he feels the same way. It’s a forbidden love of course, but they can’t seem to resist each other. (Excuse me sounding like someone reading the highlights for a romcom movie but that’s legit how it is- I’m also sounding incredibly sarcastic. Apologies.)

I went into this book expecting to hate it. I requested the second book without the knowledge that it was part of a trilogy so I had to go hunt for the first book. I ended up liking this book a lot. I finished it in a day, that’s how much I enjoyed it.

Characters: Eden Munro was your average sixteen year old. There was nothing special about her. And I was so glad when she didn’t have that moment where she’s the new girl so suddenly all the guys fawned over her. Ignoring the ‘falling in love with the stepbrother bit’, this book was pretty realistic.  I liked that Eden preferred curling up with a book (not that she actually did) and that she didn’t act like a love sick fool. She had a knack for getting into trouble though, but that could be ignored.

Tyler was an a-hole. Plain and simple. This obviously made me like him immediately. He was a bad boy that didn’t care about the rules. He worked the attitude as if he was getting paid to do it. His entrance! It was amazing.

The friends: I honestly didn’t think they were gonna stick. It’s not like you make lifelong friends when you go on vacation. Sooner or later someone’s going to forget about someone.

The siblings: They weren’t featured much but it was obvious that Tyler was close to his brothers and Eden didn’t have a hard time bonding with them.

The parents: They were your typical parents. Got mad when the kids snuck out, made lame jokes. Tried to play the ‘this is hurting me more than it hurts you’ card, so I didn’t think they were anything to freak out over.

“I’m so interested, so infatuated, and I’m falling for him.”

Likes: I liked how this book was deceiving in the sense that I thought it was your typical ‘girl falls for boy, it’s a forbidden romance, gets heartbroken but they end up together in the end anyway’. No no no, I had to throw out all my ideas. I’m not saying this book wasn’t cliche, it was but it was also not annoying.

My only dislike was that I thought some characters weren’t needed.

This book went so fast. As I was updating my Goodreads I was at 20% at the time but it felt as if I had only been reading for a few minutes. The time jump in the Epilogue was a bit weird and unexpected but I got with the program. And to think I’ve seen this book around but ignored it anyway. I leave you with these last words: DO. NOT. JUDGE. A. BOOK. BY. ITS. GENRE!

Read: 11 April 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Publication Date: 1 December 2015
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Estelle Maskame

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Did I Mention I Love You? by Estelle Maskame

  1. Pingback: Tag: Blogger Recognition Award – The Books Are Everywhere

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Favourite Reads of 2016 | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

