Book Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

10600010Goodreads Synopsis

It’s 1999 and the internet is still a novelty. At a newspaper office, two colleagues, Beth and Jennifer, e-mail back and forth, discussing their lives in hilarious details, from love troubles to family dramas. And Lincoln, a shy IT guy responsible for monitoring e-mails, spends his hours reading every exchange.

At first their e-mails offer a welcome diversion, but the more he reads, the more he finds himself falling for one of them. By the time Lincoln realises just how head-over-heels he is, it’s too late to introduce himself.

After a series of close encounters, Lincoln eventually decides he must follow his heart… and find out if there is such a thing as love before first sight.


Let me start by saying that this was the one Rainbow Rowell book I didn’t want to read. I love her writing and her stories are extremely captivating but the concept that was the basis for this book was creepy. Against my better judgement I decided to read the book anyway because my 2016 is filled with weird decisions and risks.

Attachments is a story about Lincoln who works in Systems Security- the IT guy, if you will and he’s tasked with the job of checking out any red flags that pop up in work emails. Here we meet Beth and Jennifer who have a habit of discussing their personal lives using their work emails. Lincoln finds the conversations that appear between these two women so interesting and intriguing that he can’t find it in his heart to actually do anything about it.

Characters: Lincoln became my favourite character pretty early on in the book. To be honest, I was picturing this boy-man who was totally geeky and I mean he still lives with his mom! This was one of the reasons why I liked him. He wasn’t cocky or rude and he was a genuine nice guy. He had morals! He hated his job because who wants to read other peoples’ emails?

I liked Beth a lot better than I did Jennifer but I think that’s because she seemed to express herself more as the story went on. She was a strong female character who ended up being so BAMF, I wanted to applaud her. I loved the way you could just sense her rolling her eyes through her emails. Sassiness overload!

Jennifer was the perfect best friend to Beth. The character development she went through was amazing! I kind of felt sorry for her in the middle and really wished for a happy ending for her.

Lincoln’s mom and Doris- the dynamic duo. Mom at home and mom(friend) at work. Lincoln’s mom was a bit clingy at times but I think her lesson was learning to let go. She was a gem though! Her jokes, the things she’d say. I laughed out loud because of her. Doris was amazing! She was a sweetheart that I just wanted to hug and tell me stories of her life and her dogs. At first I thought that Lincoln befriended her because he felt sorry for her but that was not the case. As I said, he’s a nice guy. A gentleman.

For the other supporting characters: They really helped bring the story together. Each one played their own part…even Sam. I did not like Sam.

“There’s no air in space.”

When I saw the buddy read for this I jumped at the opportunity to read this book as it’s been on my shelves for a year. I went in with eyes narrowed but I trusted in the writing power of Rainbow Rowell because she hasn’t disappointed me so far and I hope for the best. Suffice it to say that I am glad I made the jump. Attachments is now my favourite book by Rainbow. I plan to read it again come year end. The characters, the plot, the writing, the development of said characters, it was amazing. It was like watching a flower bloom. From thinking that I’d despise this book to loving it completely and totally took me by surprise as well. I thought ‘A book about a guy who falls in love with a girl after he reads her personal emails…come on Rainbow Rowell, do your worst.’

Right now all I want to do is pick this book up again and wish that it was my first time reading it so that I could fall in love with it again.

Read: 4 April 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Publication Date: February 2012
Publisher: Orion
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Rainbow Rowell

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Favourite Reads of 2016 | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

