eARC Book Review: It’s Too Late To Die Young Now

26234591Goodreads Synopsis

A search for love, a search for forgiveness; a lifetime of questions; a lifetime of unanswered questions. A litany of accomplishments: an eternity of regrets.

George Kerry’s quest for riches, love, and ultimately forgiveness are the focus of “It’s Too Late To Die Young Now.” Diagnosed with cancer at 73, George decides he must come clean and confess his sins. Can George ever find his answers and what he’s searching for? Or, will death prevent him from obtaining his ultimate goal? Relive George’s entertaining life in the humorous novel. It’s told with a mixture of greed, romance, lust, and a lot of comedy. If you like being entertained, this book is sure to please.

“It’s Too Late To Die Young Now” is the first novel written by Gary Hope, who previously penned four works of non-fiction. When asked why he switched to writing fiction, he replied, “Because change gives me an opportunity to think, and let my imagination take me anywhere I want to go.”


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

It’s Too Late To Die Young Now is George Kerry’s story and sort of remorseful look back at his past. He jumps back to the present at random times to let us in on one or a few things. From the get go I understood that George was an a-hole. He knew this, the whole world knew this. I was so interested in finding out how his life played out because surely life can’t have always been great for him.

George wasn’t a nice man, or at least I wouldn’t put him in that category. He wasn’t a completely bad guy, he had his moments, but after everything he did, he definitely doesn’t belong on Santa’s ‘Good’ list. I really loved George’s narration. I was so into the story, and the author made it really entertaining for me. It read almost like a autobiography and I had to double check to make sure that this was fiction.

There were times when I thought that all the love he had for his wife was enough, that that would somehow make up for everything. George built himself up so much that he had such a long way to fall…I was just waiting for that moment. I kind of felt sorry for him near the end but I still wouldn’t like him if I knew him in real life.

“Looking back at my life, it would probably have been much better for everyone (including me) if I’d have just died early. But, it’s a little too late to die young now.”

Likes: I liked most this about this book. The start was amazing and that ending! George’s comeuppance was perfect. I think the author ended it perfectly. This book started at a fast pace and stayed there which was great.

The only thing I didn’t really like was that golfing scene, I practically skimmed over it and found it…uninteresting. There were a few parts that I found to be slow/confusing but I managed to move past them well enough.

Overall Thoughts: I loved where the story went and there was no ‘even though I was a d**k, my life went and ended perfectly’. There was a very satisfying ending. I wasn’t disappointed by this at all.

Read: 6 May 2016
Rating:
 ★★★★

Publication Date: 16 August 2015
Publisher: Virtualbookworm.com Publishing
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Gary R. Hope

One thought on “eARC Book Review: It’s Too Late To Die Young Now

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: May 2016 (and June TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

